We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This family-run hotel is highly recommended. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff (family) were helpful and tolerant of our tentative attempts at Turkish! The location is convenient to The Temple of Artemis, St John's Basilica and the Isabey mosque. It is also a short walk to the Ephesus museum and the centre of the village. We also walked from here to Ephesus. In short, highly recommended for its hospitality and location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ronan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We came upon the nazhan by chance, and are so glad we did. The owners were friendly, helpful and accommodating. They went out of their way to help us with transportation,and saved us quite a bit of money by doing so. The breakfast was lovely, in a nice courtyard. Good location. Stork nests visible from your window, fun to see mother with baby birds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a nice hotel with a lot of character. It has recently been expanded to 12 rooms. The hostess (Mina) proudly showed us each of the new rooms even though they weren't quire ready to be rented. The breakfast was the best we had in over two weeks in Turkey. And you can walk out the door and see major historical sights within seconds. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Mina will show you all of the available rooms so you can pick the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night - so very quaint and friendly. The owners have recently acquired the property next door and at the time of our visit they were just waiting for the safety certificate in order to open the rooms for rental. They were kind enough to show us around the newly renovated building and all rooms are finished to a very high standard, they are stunning whilst still retaining the boutique hotel charm.
The decor in the original side of the hotel is older but still charming and the owners were delightful, very helpful and breakfast was fantastic - eating in the courtyard.
This is a lovely hotel in agreat location - Selcuk is well worth exploring and the hotel is ideally placed for visiting Ephesus. The resident storks were an added bonus!

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms look excellent, rooms on the rrof of the original building are a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The owner, Mr. Akyurek is Turkish but speaks perfect English, certainly learned in UK, not US! Hotel is a former Ottoman style home (old). Rooms are small and modernized. Comfortable. Large place for a home, but small and intimate for a hotel. Staff very helpful, breakfasts so good, freshest, with a taste of olive oil from olives grown in his olive grove just a few miles up the mountain. Selcuk is a beautiful small town very near Ephesus. Great location, just down the road is the town with it's Mosque and wonderful restaurants, best fish ever! and very nice shops. In the Nazhan entry, reception room is a copy of an Ansel Adams photograph, Moon Rising over Hernandez, New Mexico along with many antique Turkish objects on the walls. Lovely courtyard, gorgeous Bougainvilla, breakfast is served out there when it's warm. Friendly, good buy for all you get. I've heard he's adding on to the hotel. Good sign, I think. All staff were super helpful. First time there was Sept. 2008, 2011 was 2nd visit.

Room Tip: Just ask for an outside room. Street isn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Naz Han's location is great: walking distance from the St. John basilica, the citadel, the mosque, and the museum, and a short drive from Ephesus. It's also right in downtown Selcuk, easy walking distance to many restaurants.

I can't say enought great things about the manager, Nazmi Karadayi. He went out of his way to help us. We had received a speeding ticket at a speed trap outside of Konya. Nazmi graciously offered to take the ticket and our payment to the local government office and handle paying it so we wouldn't have to take time out of our touring schedule. As it turned out, my husband and his passport were required, so Nazmi made a second trip to the office, this time accompanied by my husband after we returned from touring. Nazmi was invaluable in providing translations so my husband could understand what was needed to pay the ticket. Bureaucracies are bureaucracies the world over, and without Nazmi's help, we would have spent much more time dealing with the ticket.

Nazmi and his aunt were great hosts throughout our two night stay. Breakfasts were excellent and served individually based on the time we told them we would like to eat each morning. Naz Han's Istanbul-based owner is lucky to have such great caretakers at his hotel, since without them, we would have probably rated the hotel average vs. very good, despite the great location. Nazmi and his aunt's service made the difference for us. (Nazmi will be going to do his mandatory military service in the coming months, so he may not be there by the time you read this review.)

While the old Greek building housing the hotel was charming, it does have drawbacks: our room and the bathroom were small. In fact, the bathroom was so small that the toilet was in the shower! I experienced having a toilet in the shower various times 40 years ago when I travelled in Europe. However, I'm thinking Selcuk and certainly Turkey are too modern for such an arrangement in a hotel these days, 100-year old building notwithstanding... and certainly for the price of the room I would expect a more upscale bathroom. However, all was clean and the towels were not the usual air-dried boards we had been receiving at some other mid-priced hotels -- soft and sweet-smelling each day.

Internet was free, but depending on where we were in the room, reception was spotty. Outside in the courtyard Internet reception was fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Thin walls, no tv, not the cleanest room ever, but quaintly decorated and good location for sites etc. Good breakfast. Not a total bargain. website makes it look like there's a communal area for guests but this isn't the case. Courtyard area would be lovely in warmer weather.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbandrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#9 of 33 in Selcuk
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#10 of 33 in Selcuk
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nazhan Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nazhan Hotel & Cafe

Property: Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi 1044 Sokak No:2 | 1044 Sokak No:2, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nazhan Hotel & Cafe 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nazhan Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing