We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple who naked you feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vardar Family Pension
Ranked #23 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed only one night but it was really great. Vardar is just behind the bus station so an easy walk when you arrive. The room is small but one oif the better bathrooms we've had. Very clean. A big balcony with clothesline. A fantastic fruit & veg market in the street in front on Saturdays.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RannPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Vardar Family Pension
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 113 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived extremely late from the bus terminal (after 11pm) only to find the elderly owner couple napping on the couches in the reception waiting for our arrival. They ushered us straight to our room (not requiring us to bother with any paperwork right then since it was so late), the elderly man carrying my rather heavy bag up the several flights of stairs as if it was nothing. It was a very welcoming experience.
The room itself was rather small and very basic but very, very clean and neat.
The pension is in a great location if you are travelling to or from Selcuk by bus or are going to Ephesus sight-seeing. The bus terminal is less than 5 minutes walk away - this is where all the inter-city buses go from as well as a shuttle to and from Ephesus.
In addition, the quaint town of Selcuk is only around the corner from the pension - so it has easy access to everything like shops and restaurants.
The owners' daughter also runs a bed and breakfast at her property (called Natureland Efes) just a 10 minute drive out of Selcuk overlooking lovely hills and farmland. We were asked whether we would like dinner - so then she drives you in her minivan to the property where you can swim in the lovely infinity swimming pool and then have a great, home-cooked turkish meal (we paid 56 turkish lire for the two of us). It was a nice change from the typical tourist restaurants.

Overall, Vardar was great value and a great location. Whilst more like backpacker accommodation, it is good for short stays if you don't wish to be in your room for long periods.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannaki-and-PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Vardar Pension is really close to the bus station, and across the street from one of the best restaurants in town. The family is welcoming and helpful. Sevan runs the place efficiently and is always willing to share advice. The rooms are clean and quiet, each with a balcony and a clothesline for hanging out washing. Breakfast on the terrace is pleasant (despite a six story climb) and provides a good venue to meet others. And there's a book swap shelf.

Seven also offers a complete meal at her home (which she also runs as a more luxurious bed and breakfast). It is located high in the hills approaching Syringe, a Swiss-like chalet in a lovely peaceful setting with magnificent views. She drives you out and back, allows time for a swim in the infinity pool beforehand, and serves a delicious dinner. Optional, but a nice change and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

been there late night. but don't worry as the pension is near to the bus station and it is easy to find. the room is spacious and it is clean. the next day, had our breakfast and the owner even make a call to our tourist guide as he was late to pick up us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violinkyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Vardar is in a great location, a few hundred meters from the bus station and on the side of town nearest Ephesus.

The room & attached bathroom were clean, but not the most spacious we've stayed in. There was a tv & A/C included, neither of which we used.

Breakfast was simple, but delicious, and served on the rooftop patio. The owner also invited us to her home/pension in the hills for dinner and a swim. If they make you this offer, TAKE IT! It's incredibly beautiful and at a great price, not to mention the wonderful food!

The only reason I gave Vardar a 4/5 instead of 5/5 is that the bed was a bit stiff. Otherwise, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brand763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Vardar family pension is a real nice pension with small but neat rooms. Bathroom is also very clean. It is run by a friendly family and do not miss the oppurtunity to eat at their other pension which is near to the hills. Best turkish food so far and for a good price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang_1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed only one night at this hotel and it was very comfortable. The owner's daughter was at the bus station when we arrived and walked us to the hotel which is located right next to the bus station. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The only thing we didn't like was that we had 2 single beds instead of a double bed. Breakfast was very good and served on the rooftop terrasse which was nice. The best part about our stay was when the owners' daughter invited us to come eat dinner and use the pool at her pension which is located in the mountains. She picked us up at 6:30pm and drove us there free of charge. The home where she has 2 rooms is located in the mountains and has the most amazing views of the sunset. We swam in her stunning infinity pool also free of charge and were served the best meal we had in Turkey for only 20 lira. After our bellies were full of this amazing food, she drove us back to Vardar pension. It was a fantastic evening!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mireille387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rebetika Hotel
Rebetika Hotel
#12 of 32 in Selcuk
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Atilla's Getaway
Atilla's Getaway
#3 of 18 in Selcuk
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Panaroma
Villa Panaroma
#9 of 32 in Selcuk
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ali Baba's House
Ali Baba's House
#13 of 32 in Selcuk
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vardar Family Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vardar Family Pension

Address: Ataturk Mah. Sahabeddin Cad. No 9, Selcuk, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range: $22 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vardar Family Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vardar Family Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing