We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, enjoy, ... great people and great food”

Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are Turkish family run this restaurant, 2 brothers own this place and we always try to make best Turkish food for our guest, welcome all.We have free WIFI Wireless at restaurant ( internet connection ). we have a so many vegetarian options too.We have also face page you can check Mehmet and Ali Baba kebab house
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relax, enjoy, ... great people and great food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Family run. Gracious hosts. Excellent food. Great bread and dips with the meal. I must confess (and you will think me not worldly) that I ate the meatballs etc. on all four visits. I loved them, and found no reason to switch. I really like a cold beer with my meal. He searched each evening and found the coldest Efes for me. Choice of about four teas for after dinner. Teas are free. I saw one person stop, have free tea, and leave. She was treated as nicely as those who stayed for dinner. He knows this is a future customer. These folks have it right. Be genuine, sincere, hospitable, treat each customer as the most important, serve great food, and offer a super value/cost ratio. Single, couple, or family will feel comfortable and at home. Great value. A place to add to memory of good experiences.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MindCapitalOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy for you like our meal, also we are always happy to see you at our restaurant , welcome back any time .
Thank you so much
Mehmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    137
    56
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Chocolate pancake is the best”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We searched for this restaurant on our first night and had a delicious meal I had the meatballs and N had the kebab. This restaurant is the first in turkey to get potato fries correct. The meal was lovely and very filling so although we wanted to try the pancakes we were to full. So we returned on night 2 for deserts only. The pancakes was amazing like a ferro rocher choc. N had the savory pancake and enjoyed it though he was envious of mine.
N also had the yoghurt drink and says don't do it as the locals have salt water in it it was cheap but left a bad after taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy for you like our meal, also we are always happy to see you at our restaurant , welcome back any time .
Thank you so much
Mehmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Your stomach will thank you!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a really fantastic little place with amazing kebabs. It was right next to our guest house (Boomerang) and we saw one couple eat there three times in the space of two days so finally we decided to find out for ourselves if the kebaps were really that good (yes, they were!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank frequent_flyer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy for you like our meal, also we are always happy to see you at our restaurant , welcome back any time .
Thank you so much
Mehmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alibaba & Mehmet Kebaps - a must do on your list!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Ali Baba & Mehmet, Selcuk – our most favorite place in Selcuk.

Right across the park from the Otogar this lovely, homely restaurant had amazing kebaps, gozlemes and the works. Alibaba usually cooks (they also have another lady who cooks traditional turkish fare) and his brother Mehmet, Alibaba himself & Alibaba's wife attend to guests.

They re such a lovely family – we felt as though we were guests at their house. We ate there at 4 meals during our 5 day visit – in fact once our 3 yr old daughter dozed off when we arrived at the restaurant and Mehmet rushed to get a carpet, a pillow and a blanket for her to sleep on just so that she is comfortable and we have a good meal…

Has free wifi as well ... (thats a bonus) ...

Truly a place with great food & amazing warm service.

Must Have: Chicken Kebaps, Lamb Chops, Gozleme amongst other things (and complementary cay/ apple cay)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NeverJetLagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy for you like our meal, also we are always happy to see you at our restaurant , welcome back any time .
Thank you so much
Mehmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“awesome food!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The food here is amazing, i ate until i couldn't fit any more in. the servings are large and delicious. It was the first place in turkey that i have been able to get a vegetable kabab. Excellent service a with lovely owners. enjoyed the hell out of it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Streeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy for you like our meal, also we are always happy to see you at our restaurant , welcome back any time .
Thank you so much
Mehmet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing