We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and very friendly atmosphere!!”

Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are Turkish family run this restaurant, 2 brothers own this place and we always try to make best Turkish food for our guest, welcome all.We have free WIFI Wireless at restaurant ( internet connection ). we have a so many vegetarian options too.We have also face page you can check Mehmet and Ali Baba kebab house
Selcuk, Turkey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and very friendly atmosphere!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent three days in Selçuk with my boyfriend and found the perfect restaurant! The food and the service were great! Very friendly atmosphere!!
If you are coming to Selcuk you should definitely eat there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank FernandaFurtado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for nice review and welcome back always we are happy to se you at our restaurant. nice to meet you too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    137
    56
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and like eating at a friends house!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was great eating here again and spending time with the Mehmet! The food is still as delicious as it was last time and very reasonably priced. Everything we had was very tasty, fresh, and well cooked. Definitely give this place a try when you're checking out Selcuk and the amazing ruins!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for nice review and welcome back always we are happy to se you at our restaurant. nice to meet you too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent four days in Selcuk and based on the Trp Advisor reviews we found our way to Memet's. the seating area is not large but with outside seating available we always found a table. The food was excellent and the service as well. As others have said, Memet makes his customers feel welcome. We ate several meals with them and by the end of our stay looked on Memet's as our home base. He helped us find transportation to some of the sites and made recommendations when we asked about other merchants, where to exchange money etc. They also own a carpet shop next door and we found this to be a positive experience as well, without the high pressure that is the trademark of Turkish rug merchants. This is truly a five star stop when in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Dandjhelscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for nice review and welcome back always we are happy to see you at our restaurant. nice to meet you too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top rated for a reason”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Came here in the afternoon for a nice meal. The staff and owner were very friendly. The menus are multi-lingual. It is a bit hard to find, it's not a large place and you may pass by it without even noticing.
The food was superb, delicious, cooked well and very flavourful. It was the eggplant and meatballs dish. I believe it was 15 Lira which isn't too much but definitely worth it. Visited here in the offseason, so I can see it getting busy during the summer months.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for nice review and welcome back always we are happy to se you at our restaurant. nice to meet you too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Food - Great Value”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in Selcuk for three days & ate at Mehmet & Alibaba's each day. The restaurant is homey and the food is delicious. Each dish we tried equaled, if not surpassed, the previous one. The food is fresh and healthy. We had the mixed vegetable platter, grilled vegetable kebap and potato & cheese gozleme. The gozleme is, by far, the best we've eaten in Turkey. Mehmet is a wonderful man - helpful, friendly and not overbearing.

I highly recommend this place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank dmeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for nice review and welcome back always we are happy to se you at our restaurant. nice to meet you too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing