We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service”

Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House
Ranked #3 of 106 Restaurants in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are Turkish family run this restaurant, 2 brothers own this place and we always try to make best Turkish food for our guest, welcome all.We have free WIFI Wireless at restaurant ( internet connection ). we have a so many vegetarian options too.We have also face page you can check Mehmet and Ali Baba kebab house
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had trouble in finding this restaurant, and after a fruitless search on one night, we came upon it by accident the next evening and probably only because we were staying nearby and decided to take a different route into town.
We were extremely lucky to get a table and by the time we left there were quite a few people waiting. Always a good sign.
To begin with the service staff were exceptional - not locals, most were overseas travellers, very friendly and willing to swap a few travel experiences with you.
The area, which is located in a side street away from the tourist centre of town, was quiet and relaxing.
The food was superb and still rates with us a one of the best dining experiences we had in Turkey. Nothing fancy, but real, typical Turkish cuisine. The menu was in several languages and any questions were readily answered by attentive staff.
If you can find it (and obviously many tourists can), it is well-worth dining there.
Whilst most of the customers were tourists, the place did not have that overwhelming tourist atmosphere that you experience in many restaurants.

10  Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for nice review and welcome back always we are happy to se you at our restaurant. nice to meet you too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 453 of 996 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

This quirky little restaurant is just outside of downtown Selcuk. There are two large tables in this crowded place with a small-ish menu. The food was quite good, but by no means the best place of the three dinners we had in Selcuk. The prices were good, but if you are looking for pleasing ambiance, this is not the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
12  Thank Biogeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy to you like our dishes and always welcome back to our restaurant.. thank you so much ..
Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great host with insider guide, nice restaurant with reasonable price
Multi-lingual menus are must amazing, feels like home especially for Asians ha

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank tinyhitoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy to you like our dishes and always welcome back to our restaurant.. thank you so much ..
Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hosts were really friendly and the food was yummy and filling. We went there twice and really felt at home. They are open the whole day for breakfast, lunch and dinner so we could get food from them in the morning when everything else was closed! Mehmet was really helpful and everyone was very willing to help. All in all a very pleasant experience!

9  Thank Cowfriend89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy to you like our dishes and always welcome back to our restaurant.. thank you so much ..
Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just happened to wander by this cute restaurant. The food was very tasty and homemade. It was so very pleasant to sit outside. The prices were quite reasonable and the owners enjoy spending time talking with the customers. I learned a lot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Debi ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy to you like our dishes and always welcome back to our restaurant.. thank you so much ..
Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing