We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House
Ranked #3 of 105 Restaurants in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are Turkish family run this restaurant, 2 brothers own this place and we always try to make best Turkish food for our guest, welcome all.We have free WIFI Wireless at restaurant ( internet connection ). we have a so many vegetarian options too.We have also face page you can check Mehmet and Ali Baba kebab house
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a lovely little place just up a street before you get to the museum. Wonderful food and so so cheap, it seems like we are taking advantage of them. We came across this restaurant after a visit to the excellent museum. On our first visit (yes we returned) we had the spinach pancakes and the mixed fried vegetables. Served with bread, yoghurt dip and a spicy little dip, both meals were delicious. Returning next day for lunch we tried the chicken kebab and the meat koftes and again both were cheap and delicious. The owners speak very good English and are very friendly and helpful. Mehmet booked a tour to Permukkale for us ensuring that we would get a good guide. The carpet store next door is also owned by the family and again the prices are extraordinarily cheap. Not only will Alibaba give you a good deal but will also give you a case to carry your purchase in. We thoroughly endorse this restaurant's No 1 spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Chezz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review! we are happy to you like our meals and we are happpy to see you again at our restaurant welcome back to Selcuk .. :)

Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 491 of 992 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was really good. It was made fresh and delicious.
The kebabs especially were yummy. The service too was really good.
However their baklava(turkish sweet) was not good.

6  Thank AnuradhaGandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review! we are happy to you like our meals and we are happpy to see you again at our restaurant welcome back to Selcuk .. :)

Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Mehmet and Ali make you feel at home, their food is delicious and they are always keen to chat or to help you make the most of your time in Selcuk. They are also experts on Turkish carpets, don't buy one without talking to Mehmet.

6  Thank mike_july17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review! we are happy to you like our meals and we are happpy to see you again at our restaurant welcome back to Selcuk .. :)

Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The food here was very good,I liked the vegetarian mezzes and my wife liked her Kebap. They also helped us find out hotel when we first came to Selcuk and gave us a menu with a nice map with all the landmarks which was quite useful.

4  Thank Karthik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

thank you so much for honest reviews, we are happy to you like our dishes and always welcome back to our restaurant.. thank you so much ..
Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If the title of my review doesn't say it all, note that we happened upon this little restaurant by chance when we were walking to the Selcuk museum which is just 3 mins walk away. When we sat down we noticed that there was free WiFi, for which we were given the code as soon as we asked for it. I had my tablet with me and was able to connect very easily. The food selection was varied and the portions were generous, they even offered us free refills of the yogurt and spicy red sauce and unlimited turkish tea on the house, of course we did not abuse, but this added touch made us feel very welcome and valued as customers. This is why we returned for lunch and dinner the following day without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank ellasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colaturka, Owner at Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review! we are happy to you like our meals and we are happpy to see you again at our restaurant welcome back to Selcuk .. :)

Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Mehmet and Ali Baba Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing