We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic house in a wonderful town.”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Selcuk, Izmir Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kate W
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic house in a wonderful town.”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A brilliant holiday. Selcuk is a great base for so many places and the house is a brilliant place to stay. It's so well laid out for a large family and the roof terrace has the most amazing views over the town, especially as the sun sets. Alison is a great host and will sort out anything for you. Leave her to arrange your transfers and car hire and it won't be a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic accommodation and lovely pool. Brlilliant pizza oven
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your review.

So glad you enjoyed Selcuk and Stone House and hope to see you again in the future,

Best wishes to you all, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayKe...
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ancient History and the Best Table in town”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Even if you only have the slightest interest in history a visit to Selçuk must be on your agenda, the jaw dropping Ancient city of Ephesus, the Temple of Artemis; one of the 7 ancient wonders of the world and the Basilica of St John are all literally on the doorstep.
We stayed at the “Stone House” which was without doubt the nicest holiday villa we have ever rented, as another report mentioned; the reality outshone the photos and the description. If anyone is ever thinking about renovating a holiday home, indeed any home, they ought to visit the Stone House to see how it should be done. Oh and the balcony dining area has the best sunsets ever.
Then there is Alison, described as owner / manager, we described her as the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble, whatever you need she will organise, our girls absolutely adored her. So thank you Alison for putting the icing on the holiday cake, we wish you and your family all the best in the future.
And finally a word about Turkey, forget all the nonsense, Turkey is a beautiful country full of the friendliest, proudest and most resilient people you will ever meet and they need our support now more than ever. So do them and yourself a favour and give Alison a call.
Lindsay Keelan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Any faults would be nit picking
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Hi Lindsay,

Thank you so much for your fantastic, brilliant and amazing review, how kind of you to have taken so much trouble.

It was a total pleasure to have met you all and I hope you'll be back again soon, hugs and best wishes to you all,

A x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaz101
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Beautiful place to spend two weeks”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently returned from a 2 week holiday to Selcuk with the family. The Stone House is a beautiful home and Alison was the perfect host. Nothing was too much trouble and she even arranged for a cook for the days we preferred to stay in. The house itself is full of character and has been restored to a very high standard, the small pool is a perfect way to cool off during the day and evenings. All in all a very memorable holiday and should we return to the area, the Stone House would be the only place we would want to stay. Thank you so much Alison for making our stay so comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house and high standard of accommodation
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Thank you millions for your review. I hope your all well. Was fantastic to have met you all and hope to see you again someday.

Big kiss to the kids, thanks again,

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable, beautifully designed house from which many historic sites and holiday facilities are easily accessible.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The design of the house has obviously been given a great deal of thought and attention to detail. It is a beautiful house to spend time in and relax. It would sleep and accommodate eight people comfortably.

The help we received prior to arrival and during our stay was excellent.

The proximity to Ephesus is obviously a bonus, but many other historic sites are within easy reach by car, as are market towns, seaside resorts for shopping and the waterpark. Buses are also available from Selcuk to many other locations.

One of the best houses we have stayed in.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, so nice of you to take the trouble.
Was lovely to have you all to stay and hope sometime you can make it back,

Best wishes to you all,

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2014
Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you so much.

It was lovely to meet you all and fantastic you enjoyed yourselves so much.

All the best to you all,

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M0nique50...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“This was fantastic”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved this place! It was even better than expected. From the minute we walked in we fell in love. The house is renovated beautifully, with a private pool and view to die for. Alison was more than helpful, answering our questions, recommending places to visit, eat and shop, organizng car rental...she made us feel like friends. Selcuk is a lovely town to use as a base for day trips and going to visit Ephesus. This one one of the highlights of our holiday to Turkey. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private outdoor courtyard and pool
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
Thank you so much Monique, how lovely to hear from you. Thank you so much for your review, very kind of you to take the trouble.

Hope to meet you again,

Best wishes,

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF y Flia...
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxed stay on Ionian Coast”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

The property has clearly been lovingly developed from an old site into a very lovely holiday home. The entrance is up steps through a solid door into a walled patio. The first feeling is of entering an older home and a traditional living environment. The Turkish style is very pleasing and the lay-out of the rooms, patios and small pool are very comfortable. We stayed in a group of five and enjoyed the stay very much. We had no car and were able to move around comfortably by bus or on foot to Ephesus, Sirince and the beaches, although a car would have made the stay a different experience in terms of day trips inland and along the coast.

Alison Morel makes every effort to ensure that you are happy and seems to manage a number of lovely properties. I would certainly rent one of them again. She has a local travel agency and can make other arrangements - such as the airport pick-up which is really the only way to get there without a car. The train service is inconvenient, infrequent and not completely reliable unless coming from central Izmir.

The area is quiet but full of history. Within 30 minutes, there is one of the oldest mosques in Western Turkey, the site of a huge Byzantine church, a former Greek temple, a Byzantine castle, Ephesus, the formerly Greek town of Sirince...one does not lack for things to do. The beaches at Pamucak are also quiet and lovely. Food is generally good but it has traditionally been a place that people pass through so there is no high-end dining. That said, the quality of local produce is excellent and we had some of the best home-cooked barbeque and stone oven meals we have made. Were I to return, I would rent a car to be able to see more of the hinterland, go up the coast and see the impressive ruins at Priene (magnificent), Miletus and other sites.

The price is what it is - were one in Bodrum or a more well-known destination, it would not be at all unreasonable. Given the quality of the property, particularly compared to other local options, it seems churlish to say that it could be more modestly priced by virtue of being in Selcuk. I would say that those who stay here would be happy to return!

One of our memorable holidays!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic, pleasing and thoughtful design
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing