We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden House
Garden House swimming pool, shared with next door Goldsmith House Kitchen and surrounding area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Garden House
Garden House swimming pool, shared with next door Goldsmith House
Kitchen and surrounding area
Fully equipped kithcen with views to the garden and exit to wonderful outside sitting/dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom corner detail
Spacious double bedroom with hand crafted furniture.
From kitchen to chairs, looking towards the beautiful garden
Garden House
Beautiful spring time
Modern bathroom
Poolside showing door to Garden House
Private dining and sitting area, overlooking the beautiful garden
Outside sitting and dining area, with BBQ and open fireplace
Entrance to Garden House
Garden House is situated right in the middle, far right hand side of this photo, beautiful area.
Spring garden
Kitchen door which leads to outside dining/sitting area and pool
Entrance to Garden House
Sitting area with views of the garden
Lunch at Garden House
Herbs from the garden, always welcome to help yourselves.
Garden House in winter
Poolside garden
Garden detail, view from the inside
Double bedroom
Winter time at Garden House
Garden House roof top with views of the Isabey mosque
Kitchen detail
Living room with open fireplace. Double/triple  bedroom when required
View of garden from inside Garden House
Outside relaxing/dining area with open fireplace, great for cooler evenings
Spacious double bedroom
Poolside with citrus trees
Poolside garden
Poolside garden
Garden door leading to pool from Garden House
Double bedroom
Garden House neighbourhood
St Johns Church situated only 300 meters from Garden House
St Johns Church entrance 400 meters from Garden House
Byzantine castle and the Isabey mosque, just meters away from Garden House
Local sandy beach 7 km from Garden House
Ephesus just 2,5 km from Garden House
Concert at the Ephesus library
Ancient aquaduct with Storks nesting, Selcuk town center, 5 minutes walk from Garden House
Selcuk town center, 5 minutes walk from Garden House
Byzantine castle, St Johns Church, Isabey mosque & Artemis Temple all within meters of Garden House
Storks nesting in Selcuk
Roman terraced houses in Ephesus, 2,5 km from Garden House
Isabey mosque sones throw away from Garden House
Selcuk Saturday market, 5 minutes walk from Garden House
Herbs and spices, Saturday market, Selcuk
Turkish coffee time
Epheus library, 2,5 km from Garden House
Local beach, 7 km from Garden House
Town center with restaurants, cafes and all you need for a lovely stay, 5 min walk from Garden House
Selcuk train station, 8 minute walk from Garden House
Pamukkale, 2,5 hours drive from Garden House
Aphrodisias, 1,5 hours drive from Garden House
Byzantine castle and St Johns Church, 3 minute walk from Garden House
Selcuk view
Tire, 45 minute drive from Selcuk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Selcuk, Izmir Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Turkish first
Any
English first
authorgir...
Yarragon, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Arriving at Garden House after a long, hot day of travel, our family of three felt like we were being admitted to our own private bit of paradise! Hidden away behind a tall, wooden gate, the house is surrounded by a lush garden of flower beds, succulents and lawn, all immaculately kept. The facilites are all just as in the photos, with comfortable beds, plenty of room to relax and full self-catering capabilities. We were able to walk to supermarkets, the museum and the castle easily, and there are restaurants and bread stalls at the end of the street. Alison, the property manager, was very welcoming and happy to accommodate our requests or provide assistance at any time. We were even lucky enough to have the beautiful pool, outdoor shower and inflatable pool gear - normally shared with the next-door holiday house - all to ourselves! You couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Selçuk as a small family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you too for being perfect guests, hope to see you again in the future,
All the best,

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xaCook1
Adana, Turkey
1 review
“AMAZING HOUSE”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed a week at the Garden house and loved it! Its in a great location "5 min walk to city centre" and the house/property itself was beautiful. We have a family of 5 and it accommodated us perfectly. Allison was very helpful and really made things easy. Would highly recommend staying there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Thank you for your review, very much appreciated. Hope to see you all again in Selcuk, Best wishes to you all and thank you again.

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grdemedei...
Fall City, WA
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home, fascinating location, warm, authentic hospitality.”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We are a family of 5 traveling the world for a year. We have stayed in rental homes all over South America, South Africa and Greece. This charming cottage in Selcuk is one of our favorites! Alison and Memet's hospitality is exceedingly gracious.

We had originally planned to stay in Garden House for 2 weeks, but loved it, Alison, and the surroundings so much, we added several nights. Two dear friends who are also traveling around the world met us in Selcuk in their camper, which Alison helpfully allowed us to set up just outside the home's gate. (The camper is 6 meters long by 3 meters wide, it was safe and secure out there, with an electrical hook up, and the parking spot was spacious.)

As cooks and food-lovers, we especially enjoyed Garden House's cute kitchen. It's excellently equipped for short and long term travelers. Plenty of cookware, utensils, crockery and glasses. A full sized refrigerator and dishwasher round out the kitchen nicely. Grocery stores and fresh-food markets are within an easy walking distance, as are wonderful bakeries and sweet shops. We prepared and ate most of our meals in the house including a lovely dinner at the garden table under the stars.

The rooms and beds were super comfy. We loved the open closets and chests of drawers; we unpacked and made ourselves at home. (This was the longest we've ever been in one place except when we were staying with family in Brazil.) We also appreciated the easy-to-use wash-machine, along with the extra bed linens and bath towels.

Thanks to the outdoor living area, the Garden House had space for each of us to carve out a little privacy when needed. The roses were in bloom when we were there, lovely! The swimming pool that is shared with Goldsmith House next door was still a bit cold while we were there, but we still had a great time splashing about, especially after days sightseeing in the sun.

We enjoyed so many ancient sights around Selcuk, most within walking distance of the Garden House. Isa Bey Camii, St. John's Basilica, Selcuk fortress/castle, the Roman aqueduct, Temple of Artemis, Mary's House and, of course, the city of Ephesus (OK, this was a bit further from Garden House, but we welcomed the walk under the tree-lined path). The newly renovated Ephesus museum was absolutely amazing!

Since we are traveling without a rental car, Alison helped us with excursions further afield. She organized a driver and van for us to visit the Roman spa city of Hierapolis and the famous travertines (aka Cotton Castle). She had friends who own a rug manufacturing and sales store host us for a lunch and display of beautiful Turkish rugs (with absolutely NO pressure to buy). She helped us get to the Tire market by dolmus and (for the teens) to Aqua Fantasy, a fun water park.

We absolutely recommend this house to groups traveling in Selcuk. We sincerely plan on returning someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor, layout.
Liked least: Internet was spotty, but we were a lot of
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2015
What a lovely response, thank you so so much for your fantasic review and warm thoughts.

It ws a total pleasure to have such warm, kind and lovely guests. I hope very much to see you back in Selcuk in the near future,

Best wishes to you all and thank you again,

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sumptuous seclusion”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a gorgeous week at Garden House.
The house is quiet and sheltered within a beautiful garden setting.
Ideal for a relaxing break any time of year.
The pool area is lovely,.
Just the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2014
Thank you millions for your sumptuous review, very much appreciated.

Hope to see you again soon,

All the best,

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L
2 reviews
“Comfortable and best equipped appartment”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a wonderful week in Selcuk. Alison welcomed us cordially although we arrived very late (after midnight). The appartment is wonderfull, spatious with a great kitchen. The garden is lovely with a lots of flowers and a pool. You can spend here several weeks reading a lots of interesting german and english books provided in this appartment. Every day we made a trip to interesting sites (Efesus, Milet, Aphrodisias, Tire, Didyma, Priene). We had a small car and it was no problem to get to the sites. Also the beach at Pamukac is very nice and in a distance of only 10 km. We can recommend this appartment without hesitation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrustyOld...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional house, lovely garden, strategic location - unbeatable”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful week in this exceptional house situated close to the town's tourist attractions, with the bustling centre of Selcuk only 5 minutes walk away. The house itself is delightful, set in a spacious walled garden with access to the pool at next door Goldsmith House for a cooling dip. It has all the modern facilities you would expect, and is beautifully fitted out in a simple yet elegant style. It was perfect for the two of us, but did feel slightly crowded the night our son and his partner stayed.

The main bedroom was comfortable, spacious and airy, with plenty of storage for clothes. The sitting room can be used as a second bedroom, and would be fine for children. There is outdoor seating on the covered patio, and simple chairs in the garden plus sun loungers.

On arrival, we were made very welcome by Alison, and the service we received was first rate. Alison gave us a map and pointed out places of interest in the area, best places to eat and go shopping, details of the local markets, etc. When we found the DVD player did not work, I emailed Alison, and literally 5 minutes later the owner himself was knocking on the door with a new DVD player which he then installed for us ... unbeatable service ! When our son arrived, Alison made sure we had all the details worked out so we could meet him at the correct terminal at Adnan Menderes Airport. She also made sure our hire car was set up for the motorway tolls.

I would be very happy to go back and explore more of the area. The main roads were very good, and there's stunning scenery on the coast, in the mountains, and at the numerous antiquities. Ancient Ephesus is on the doorstep! People were universally friendly and welcoming to us, but a phrase book helps away from the tourist hotspots. The produce on the local markets is plentiful, fresh, and cheap. Bars, shops and restaurants are open all hours a few minutes' walk away. What more could you want ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Using the sitting room as a second bedroom for adults
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieTCh...
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best house in Selcuk”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Undoubtedly one of the best houses we have ever stayed in. Beautiful setting, well designed and equipped and very well maintained. The garden is a delight to the senses, and the house was so comfortable. Alison was extremely helpful, even with matters nothing to do with the house. It couldn't have been bettered.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, very much appreciated. It was lovely to have met you all and hopefully one day in the future you may be able to enjoy Goldsmith House and Selcuk again, Best wishes to you all, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing