We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always look forward to lunch at Koftecisi”
Review of Selcuk Koftecisi

Selcuk Koftecisi
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I always look forward to lunch at Koftecisi”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

When I am in Selcuk I always make sure to come here--simple very tasty food at a good value; I've eaten here on several occasions and always enjoyed it; reasonably priced fresh food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jejoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    53
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston VA
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our food was acceptable. However the cooked vegetables which were supposed to be cooked in garlic had no flavor or texture. Server brought wrong drinks and could not be found to get the bill. There must be better in Selcuk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Godguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent kofte”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

After checking the reviews we decided to have our traveler’s Xmas dinner at the Selcuk Koftecisi. Small restaurant, basic furniture, simple local food but the best we had in Selcuk and the kofte the best I had in Turkey so far. The Meze were also excellent (Patlican Ezme and Yougurtly Patlican Ezme). It was an odd Xmas dinner although we enjoyed it a lot together with a Hindu Family, a Japanese couple a some local guests. Great Turkish food and friendly service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagrusCascais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch when we got to Selcuk the first day. So good we went back for lunch day two. One server spoke English and like most places in Turkey like this just go to the counter and talk to the English speaker about what you want. When you're done pay at the payment counter.
Had spivey meatballs the first day, lamb chops the second. My wife ate around the menu and could not stop saying how good it was. Had salad and appetizers as well as meat. Can beat it. Off the tourist street. By the market. Easy walk from main tourist strip.

Helpful?
Thank TerryfromToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is in all the guidebooks. I decided to try it out after a long, hot day visiting the ruins at Ephesus. I must stress that it was a sweltering day and when I arrived at this restaurant, I was parched and very much in need of some water. I was woman traveling alone and the restaurant seemed to be full of tour groups. The waiter ignored me for the first 20 minutes of my sitting down. When I finally got him to take my order, I asked for a bottle of water (I asked in Turkish) and he said "no." Confused by this response, I asked again in Turkish and then in English and he stared at me and said "no water." I couldn't quite believe this as everyone in Turkey drinks bottled water, but I assumed they had run out. So I ordered my food and a soda, which I never drink, but that was all they had. As I waited for my food, I noticed every table around me had bottled water. I still gave him the benefit of the doubt and figured they had just run out. Once I got my food, the waiter pretty much ignored me the rest of the time. Shortly after that, a tourist couple came in with a guide and they ordered water from my waiter. They got it right away. This was just plain nasty. I can't imagine why he would lie and not give me water, but when I got the check (which I had to ask him for many times) I told him how rude it was that he he did that. He looked embarrassed but did not say anything in response.
The food was okay, but I agree with others about the portion size. Obviously I will never go back there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selcuk Koftecisi also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Selcuk Koftecisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing