We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Amazon

Amazon
Ranked #36 of 103 Restaurants in Selcuk
Restaurant details
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I went there after reading the reviews. We went for dinner and ate on the sidewalk. I had the amazon special and he had the pepper steak, we shared the Greek salad. The salad was in a pool of dressing, but it did have fresh and delicious vegetables and cheese. Both of our entrees were "just ok". It was nothing spectacular, extremely overrated is how we both felt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food we found in Selcuk”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate here several times - in the garden across the road from the main restaurant. Service was very pleasant indeed and much less pushy than most other places. The mixed meze were delicious and varied from day to day. Their home-grown olives were delicious. The meat dishes were on the large side for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Better in the high season”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here twice. Food was very good but the restaurant was very cold and dark. The second time we went our meals came with plain boiled spaghetti rather than vegetables which was very shocking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavePatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of character”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We dropped in to this venue from a bar recommendation. One important point is that it has inside seating unlike many restaurants; important when visiting in October like we were. The food was very nice. I had the Amazon Special like many other reviewers and it was certainly the most interesting dish I had in Selcuk.

The owner was very friendly and clearly proud of the fact he grew all his own vegetables!

The restaurant also looks over the Temple of Artemis. You can sit outside across the road and look at it,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VelvetPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal in Selcuk so far”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We read about this restaurant in Lonely Planet in the bar section. But one detail really caught our eye - it has an inside eating area. Even in October the temperature could drop and we'd had rain today. So restaurants that only have seating outside did not appeal!

The owner was very friendly and helpful. He closed the windows to cut out the breeze for us. While we ordered he explained how all the vegatables were organic and grown in his garden.

They specislise in beef dishes but do some chicken dishes. The food was very nice. I had the Amazon Special mentioned in other reviews here. I've never had anything like it and recommend it.

There are a few more beers than just Efes pilsner. I tried the Efes dark and it is really nice.

We were the only people in at the time, unlike other places we've eaten this week. Yet it has been one of the best meals. And in daylight you can sit outside and see the Temple of Artemis too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VelvetPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazon also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Amazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing