We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky, noisy, friendly”
Review of Santa Pera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Pera Hotel
Ranked #859 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We decided to stay on the modern side of Istanbul for a few days before heading to the historic district. Hotels on this side are more expensive as they were business oriented.

We choose this hotel because it was close to the local night life district of Beyoglu and near the major shopping street of Istiklal Avenue. The area is modern Turkey local in flavour and not very touristy which was what we were looking. Our hotel was a 5 minute walk away from this action across a major road which we had chosen because we were afraid of late night noise from revelers.

The first thing we noticed was our room was very smoky. We were told that there was only 1 non smoking room per floor and they were full. Since it was our first night in Turkey, and noticing the much greater prevalence of smoking, we assumed this would be the norm. On our later travels in Turkey in similar quality hotels, we didn't find this problem.

The hotel is newish like the photos on the website. It's location is ideal for Istiklal avenue although you have to cross a very busy road but there is a pedestrian intersection. Unfortunately traffic noise is loud as it's by this busy road. Access to the old town is easy as buses run down this road towards the old town.

Breakfast was adequate. Typical Turkish choices with some cheese, breads and local cold cuts.

Free Wifi is available but partially because the building is concrete, and secondly cause it's 7 stories tall, reception is good only on the first few floors. I surfed with my laptop in the lobby.

Staff was helpful and friendly. Cleaning done was adequate. Rooms were mainly new except we noticed peeling paint on the ceilings. Floors looked like new hardwood veneer.

In all it was adequate accommodation for the upgraded backpacking style of travel we were doing, except for the really smoky rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sng8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siran C, Satış Müdürü at Santa Pera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear our Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Santa Pera Hotel Istanbul and for taking the time to share your valuable comments.

We have upset that you could not meet your expectations during your stay. I would like to inform you that our hotel has been completely renovated as of January 2015. Our breakfast was developed and our non-smoking room has been increased. Our hotel is located in one of Istanbul's busiest streets at Tepebaşı. İn this reason, our windows are double glazed and made aim to reduce noise. Meanwhile it is actually only a 10-minute walk from our hotel to Taksim Square.

Your choice of accommodation for next time you travel to Istanbul, I would like to indicate you are welcome to use by us.

Kind Regards,
Siran Camgöz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Kawthar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ΧΑΡΑΛΑΜΠΟΣ Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014
Thank 908ARDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siran C, Satış Müdürü at Santa Pera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Sanat Hotel Pera
Sanat Hotel Pera
#352 of 1,160 in Istanbul
38 reviews
Beyoglu
Alkoclar Istanbul Keban
Alkoclar Istanbul Keban
#436 of 1,160 in Istanbul
211 reviews
Beyoglu
The Biancho Pera Hotel
The Biancho Pera Hotel
#861 of 1,160 in Istanbul
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#506 of 1,160 in Istanbul
640 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel Halic
Grand Hotel Halic
#635 of 1,160 in Istanbul
361 reviews
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#553 of 1,160 in Istanbul
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Pera Hotel

Address: Refik Saydam Cad. No 312, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #859 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $112 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Pera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Pera, locating in Pera which is the heart of culture, art, high-quality food and night life, hosts glamorous view of Golden Horn and Istanbul's old-city region. İstiklal Street ,many restaurants, cafés, bars, shops and art galleries are next to the hotel. Hotel santa pera is within walking distance to many historic buildings and public transport points of city where is located in Pera which has known as the center of culture, art, fine dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing