We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere in style”
Review of Simdi Cafe

Simdi Cafe
Ranked #842 of 13,612 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Atmosphere in style”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We came after dinner, looking for some good coffee and deserts and we weren't disappointed. Our friends took us to Simdi, after we discussed of getting some decent coffee at dinner. They also sought something 'tatle'(sweet in Turkish)and told us they have the perfect place. Located just off Istiklal, it has a great location of many shops and restaurants nearby. The design is the first thing you see when entering, with a very nice courtyard which was converted to the restaurant inside. We ordered several coffees, and some deserts. Baked quince fruit with sugar syrup and kaymak(creamed dairy which resembles butter or cream)which was very good and sweet, and Simdi's version of Mille-feuille which consisted of the classic custard and creme patissiere along with strawberries(a delight). The place was packed, as well as the bar and atmosphere was great. Service was good . We were impressed with the big picture of the owner's father in London's Hyde park in the 1950's. An enjoyable experience indeed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cybrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had some cocktails, all reasonably priced, and some nice snacks. Great atmosphere. Mostly locals; artists, musicians, writers etc. We ordered cocktails and after tasting them we wanted them sweeter. No problem. Great service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyMullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texcoco, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, but service could be friendlier”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've been to Simdi twice and the food is delicious. Their service, however, could be much friendlier.

I'm glad they have wifi though!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RishiBasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food delicious, atmosphere authentic”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We have had some deserts and coffee. All the food and coffees were so good. They said all food produced are in house. We have also enjoyed the unique atmosphere of it. We strongly recoomend

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank oguzhan_aygun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“very nice place to have a drink, tea, diner in a relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I discovered this place on previous trip to Istanbul. I repeated at that time at least tweice in a week,. Not easy to locate as there is no name of the building but this is a narrow street onthe right hand of istikal caddesi going down to tunnel. I have just arrived from Istanbul where we stayed 8 days. We repeated 3 times.... excellent curry lentils soup, delicious grilled salmon, rice pudding. Few desserts left for dinner!!! nice people attending you. Try to be close to the windows or doors as it may be hot there.. One of my favouruites places in the world with another one in Nitansasi, Mid Point terrace!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b0nstanislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simdi Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Simdi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing