We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal we Had!”
Review of Develi Restaurant

Develi Restaurant
Ranked #285 of 13,538 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Meal we Had!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The last night of our stay, we went here with new found friends. The mezes were fantastic, the cig kofte - a new fave, and mixed kebab platter - wow. Do not miss.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    103
    27
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor food. Arrogant staff.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Despite good recommendations we found our waiter arrogant and not a bit helpful. The food was very average and not good value. We were shown to an enclosed rooftop dining area where smoking was allowed even though the area was enclosed. We were not asked if we wanted a smoking or non smoking dining area. Overall experience very poor. Definitely would not recommend this restaurant. Dave.

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good ambiance”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After spending a full week in Istanbul and trying many restaurants, Develi turned out to be my favourite Turkish style place. Don't expect a Michelin star cuisine, but their tasty and decent size platters to share between guests of a same table were delicious. An excellent service that included a free shuttle pick up from and back to our hotel complimented the very pleasurable experience. The wine list had affordable local wines, something rare in Istanbul! Thumbs up for this restaurant!

Helpful?
1 Thank gconiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average food, over hyped and cheats”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Over hyped for the kind of reviews, food was average (had better food at all other places in Istanbul) and felt cheated as they serve you bread and cheese in the beginning as if its complimentary (it is at most of the other places) but charge you for it. Getting charged for something that you didn't order is the worst a restaurant can do specially of this caliber.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saahilsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in Istanbul”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went to Develi on the advice of Lonely Planet. The taxi driver didn't know the location of the restaurant and had to call with the number we gave him from the book. He kinda found it but we had to walk a bit since the restaurant is located on a pedestrian-only thoroughfare. But on to the food - great flavors and quality ingredients. The chicken shish tawouk was very juicy and flavorful since they use chicken thighs and the special mixed grill was a real highlight. The meat and vegetable kebab actually turned out to be the best single food item I had my entire stay in Istanbul. All in with three appetizers, two mains, a big bottle of water, a soft drink and coffee we walked out with pockets 105 ytl lighter. Not bad considering it's a kebab meal I'll compare all other kebabs to for the rest of my life.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appraiserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Develi Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Develi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing