We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omar Cafe Can't Be Beat!”

Omar Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #239 of 13,710 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Omar Cafe Can't Be Beat!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are anywhere near Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet, or the Basilica Cisterns and in need of an excellent meal, do not miss your opportunity to savor the remarkable flavors of Omar Cafe! The meals are amazing and the desserts are perfect... all at a VERY reasonable price, particularly for this area of the city. The waiters and owner are attentive, entertaining, generous, helpful, and considerate. Our favorite waiter even went so far as to write down his family recipe for a specific dessert we enjoyed at another restaurant, then looked up a specific market where we could purchase our own ingredients (unavailable in the US) near our apartment in Taksim. We enjoyed this restaurant twice during our last visit and even made our hotel decision for our upcoming visit (partly) based upon it's proximity to this restaurant. We can't wait for our next inaugural meal on May 16th!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    136
    40
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“have been here many times”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

as being a tourist guide I have been this restaurant many times and no complaints at all.
reasonable price-smiling staff-tasty food...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourguide-Hakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Cold fish, and dirty cutlery.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Cold fish, and dirty cutlery. The staff are very slow in the service and take every opportunity to rip you off!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Wait for a seat in the top”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived to be told there were no seats available, so waited at the seats outside refusing the menu said we would order when we had a table on the top floor. Got the corner window table at the top, which was a real bonus and worth the 20 minute wait. It was cold day outside and the perfect place to sip beer and look out over the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. From the 4 of us, two had good meals and 2 were just average. Waiters were efficient and the food was prompt, although one of the meals was a little on the cool side.
Food might be only average, but the view we got pushed it into a very good, so if you are thinking of going then hold out for the top floor window seats.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_n_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate here on Saturday night. The big attraction is that the restaurant overlooks both the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, so has an excellent location. What a fantastic vista for dinner !
The restaurant was virtually empty, but the windows had steamed up, which was not great for the view. I would have thought it would be well worth the restaurant trying to address this.
The food was okay. The service was fast, if a bit surly.
At the end of the meal we ordered 2 glasses of red wine, which cost 25TL each, so not cheap. The wine was too horrible to drink, and as we never saw a bottle, I can only assume it was left over from something else. We mentioned this to the surly waiter, but he wasnt interested. We didnt drink them, but he charged us anyway.
There are better places to eat in Istanbul.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Omar Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing