We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly sweets in a wonderful location by the sea”
Review of Baylan

Baylan
Ranked #10 of 330 Dessert in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Neighborhood: Kadıköy
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly sweets in a wonderful location by the sea”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location at Bebec is breath - taking and while drinking your coffee or tasting the delicious coup grille one can stare at the "traffic" in the Bosphorus. We had the chance to taste different flavours of chocolates as various products are on display for testing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biancoulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    44
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medford,MA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Baylan pipelines a traditional patisserie experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Baylan is a lovely old-fashioned (in a good sense) patisserie in Kadikoy. The Parisian-style macarons are delicious and there is a nice range of European style pastries and cookies. The restaurant is known for coupes of icecreams with rich sauces and whipped cream. Good coffees and teas. I worry that this lovely place will be wiped out by the nearby Starbucks. Treat yourself to a sweet stop at Baylan and enjoy the pastries and the history in this atmospheric place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is a nice old patisserie in Moda. It serves a special Turkish ice cream called "coup grillet". It consists of 3 different kinds of ice cream with nuts, honey and caramel topped with cream. I can't tell you how nice it was. The patisserie itself has a very nice atmosphere and the waiters are very helpful. I recommend anyone who will visit istanbul to plan to visit Baylan patisserie. Don't miss it, it is the better ice cream I have ever ate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“this is what coupe grillé should be !”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My mother was taken there by her grandmother & I've been going since I was 3.
The coupe grillé is the best, and I do travel a lot, never has any coupe been better.

Their new location in Bebek is perfect, so much easier to get to. Anyone having a meal in Bebek should have desert here.
The balcony is perfect to watch the crazy Bebek traffic over the weekend too. It is like a sahara within the chaos of the city.

Please make sure to have a coupe grillé, it is the taste of old and new Istanbul.
And, like everything else in Bebek, it is open til late night

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have a nice break in Bebek”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Kup Griye and Montebianco should be your first choices without doubt. Enjoy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baylan also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Baylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing