We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but neglected...”
Review of The Newport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Newport Hotel
Ranked #785 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice but neglected...”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

well the good bit about the hotel is the location and the staff who are very helpful and friendly.special thanks to erol for making our trip very memorable.the towels are also changed on adaily basis.we had chosen the twin room,very spacious as opposed to the double room.the cable tv has cnn and bbc so that is a plus.however the breakfast was too boring, we had the same thing everyday except for one day.the rooms are not cleaned thoroughly so you will find the toilets are stained and there is accumulated dust that never gets cleaned.all in all the hotel is old school and needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
3
6
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a group tour, otherwise I wouldn't have spent the night. The good points include a robust wifi connection, clean/crisp sheets, and close proximity to the Grand Bazaar and tram station. However, the rooms were dingy (moldy shower and ceiling, water stains on bedroom walls, sticky carpet, dirty decorative pillows), noisy, and very stuffy (the a/c barely worked if at all). There are cheaper, better places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1travlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here twice as it was the start and end-point for a G-Adventure trip. The hotel has an excellent location (walking distance to most sights in Istanbul) and is easily reachable by public transport (just a short walk from the main Tram line).

The first room (single night) on the first floor was decent. Had a build-in locker which was unusable as a couch was blocking the door completely. The same case was with the desk, which couldn't be used as the space between the bed and the desk was barely passable.

The second time we were issued "the suite" on the 5th floor. It's entrance is from a large roof terrace witch a nice view of the city. The room was downright dirty and was not - as far as we noticed - cleaned once during our 4 night stay - neither did it seemed to have been cleaned before we were issued the room. Only towels was switched to clean - most days. I'm not quite sure if the lack of an lift/elevator was the reason, but it almost seemed that way. One window couldn't be closed - not even after maintenance tried to "fix it", and the air conditioner could only heat the room - despite the controls tried to claim something else.

The breakfast is in the basement and not accessible by stairs - only the lift. The self-service buffet was reasonable nice, but don't expect the staff to notice if things runs out - tell them (several times) and they will eventually get around to resupplying.

When checking-in the second time we presented a pre-paid voucher for two rooms. The reception didn't boother to look at it before trashing it. It caused an issue on the day before checking out, as their computer had registered the stay a day short - and we ought to prove, that the rooms were prepaid. After a bit of a hassle we managed to re-print the voucher, and but naturally not as much as an apology though it would have been in place.

Most of the staff hardly speak any English, so prepare to use sign-language if you stay here.

I do think, that the hotel could be pretty nice, if only it was cleaned better (rooms, halls) and maintenance was something they did - and the staff did just a tiny effort to make you feel welcome, not just a burden.

Room Tip: See the room before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahler_io
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here as a starting point for my group tour. It is super cheap, but you can do so much better for about the same amount of money or slightly more. The location is ok - it's convenient to the tram which is super easy to use.

The hotel is old and shows it's age. The decor is old and ugly. The AC hardly works. It's so hot outside and it isn't much better in the room.

I had a couple friends also on the tour and their room was a beauty... the toilet leaked all over the floor and the ceiling leaked in the middle of the night. At least my room wasn't that bad!

On the plus side... they have wifi... decent location... and are nice enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Originally our group of 8 friends had been booked at the Sultanameth Park Hotel, but when arriving late something had happened to our booking.com reservations and we found ourselves without accomodation. "Luckily", the owners had another hotel available where we were finally installed - this Newport Hotel... Ok rooms, ok location, ok staff, ok breakfast - everything was acceptable without being outstanding in any way. But for us it served its purpose, as we were in Istanbul to experience and enjoy the city - not the hotel room.
5 minutes walk to the tram and to the Grand Bazar - so no complaints - but average in every way.

Room Tip: Avaid the rooms without windows towards the streets - as they only have an opening to a very small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SignarI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
309 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were send here because of overbooking in th Sultanahmet Park Hotel - the same owner who tried to convince us that this was better value . But it was not at all. The hotel itself is an semiold building quite som distance from the tourist atractions, about 20 minutes walk from the Blue mosque. The area is not a tourist area. The rooms were small, but clean, he breakfast just Ok ,but in the cellar with only a lift to go there. One lift for all the roooms , so you could be stuck in the cellar for quite some tiome waiting for the lift.
The staff was helpful and nice, the rooms were clean and the manager doing the best he could for us, even giving us a reduction for compensating the overbooking.

Room Tip: Try not to have the rooms facing the shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked the extra night before the tour start through GAdventure. We arrived at 7.30pm and was told the room was not ready and have to wait for the Manager to made a decision who will appear in about 5 mins but 1/2 hr gone by no Manager so we went out to dinner. Come back was given a room with one queen size bed in small room but we paid for twin.

KUALA

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KUALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Hotel Nezih
#768 of 1,140 in Istanbul
37 reviews
Hotel Linda
#756 of 1,140 in Istanbul
18 reviews
Selenay Hotel
#606 of 1,140 in Istanbul
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Emporium Hotel Istanbul
#804 of 1,140 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Beyazıt
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
#362 of 1,140 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Balin Boutique Hotel
#409 of 1,140 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newport Hotel

Property: The Newport Hotel
Address: Mihat Pasa Cad. Abuhayat Sokak No 9 | Beyazit ( Grand Bazaar ) Fatih Istanbul, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #785 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Newport Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Istanbul, Newport Hotel has modern accommodations and free Wi-Fi access. Various Turkish specialties are served in its restaurant. The Grand Bazar is 550 yards away. Hotel Newport offers air-conditioned rooms and suites. Accommodations have a private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy cocktails and light snacks at the lobby bar. The hotel also has guest laundry facilities and car rental services. Newport Hotel is half a mile from Sultanahmet. Guests can reach the nearest bus stop with a 5 minute walk. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Newport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing