We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It deserve every dollar that you spend there.”
Review of Gelik Atakoy

Gelik Atakoy
Ranked #1,023 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It deserve every dollar that you spend there.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It is the best place for meat or chicken grill. The prices are very good if you compare with the food. If you are close to Gelik et you have to go and visit,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hakan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    69
    46
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“For any occassion”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Huge popular kebab restaurant, very close to Sheraton hotel. Amazing variety of meat and other Turkish dishes, very efficient service. Despite the massive character of the place, the quality of the food is kept at very good level.
Standard and classic choice!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angelos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“harika”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

historical and unique restaurant in istanbul... especially their meat meals are very delicious..this restaurant is known by all..transportation is very easy..you can use ferry or bus...if you will go there please try "GELİK AYRAN" their special drinks

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank onnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish for Meat Lovers”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

At first sight the interior could indicate that this is a classic turistic restaurant. I am sure tourist will enjoy it as much as I did but it is in no way trying to cut corners. Both food and service holds a very high level and according to the local business contacts that brought me to Gelik then the food is as real and authentic as it gets
We had a broad spread of all local and restaurant speciallities and all were splendid
Service was attentive and polite, never far away
The restaurant can be visited by all, business people, couples as well as families
For sure a place I would like to visit again when in Istanbul
Gelik has my highest recommendations

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRavnRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caution, exploding mustard”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful and tastiest restaurants you can eat in, if you like Kebab, if you are into lamb don't miss going there
But I'm warning you about the mustard, I've never ever in my whole live tasted such mustard, it will explode in your mouth, it's not a joke, you'll get the feeling that you want to cry, want to scream, want to hit your head on the wall, want to bite the waiter, you'll definitely gonna sneeze and sneeze a lot, you’ll gonna cry for sure, but funny crying and trust me you’ll gonna love it
And I’m warning you too, never ever make it as a joke with someone without warning him, one of my friends was so close to die when he got a big bite of the steak, even he knew about it before but he couldn’t hold it, it was a sight I can never forger

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelik Atakoy also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Gelik Atakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing