We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cem Sultan Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel is located in a nice place in the middle of the town where there is no problem to visit many interesting sights. The people who served us at the hotel were very helpful and nice. Can be accommodated at an attractive price. If I go to Istanbul, I will go to this hotel. Our easy cycling team was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jiri_Flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked a five day stay via booking service and paid 20% in advance. That made us stay in that house.
On arrival we learned that we had to stay in another room in a house in the neighborhood for two nights. We were fine with the replacement enjoying seaview and acceptable space. The other day we left the hotel in the morning and returned during afternoon, and went out for dinner until 11.30 p.m. so ther were enough chances to prepare us for the things to come.
The manager now told us we had to leave for another hotel because of technical problems in the room. The staff already collected our private stuff and baggage from the old room and stored it in the staff's office. Up to this moment nothing had happened in preparation of this anew move. So we had to wait for another hour, followed by a 15 min taxi ride. This hotel was a total flop. A sleazy room looking to a busy crossing with untight windows that didn't make a difference to the noise, neither open nor closed. We were to tired to complain. The next morning they collected us again with a taxi for breakfast. At noon we moved to the final room looking forward to another nice room with seaview. What we were offered was a broom closet equipped with a double bed and barely half a meter of space on two sides of it. There was a small window to an internal airing channel containing a spiral staircase and according to the noises connecting kitchen rooms and other damp locations. Unfortunately the drain-trap did not work. With and without fan there was always an odour in the bathroom.
The "manager", a young guy of estimated 30 years looked always sleepy and raggle-taggle, his co-worker (same age, same appearance) did not even greet the guests when he met them.
The two kitchen and cleaning maids like watching TV soaps at high volume. It would not be an issue if it was outside the breakfast room.
Best part of the show came on the last day. We agreed on breakfast at 07.00 a.m. because we had to catch early flights and showed up timely in the breakfast room. There was nothing prepared at all. We had to leave hungry and buy a breakfast near the tram station.
Those having low standards will find a hotel in a doubtless good location close to the major sights.
PS: The red coloured fire hose box is encased in a brown wooden box with no warning sign around. In case of a fire nobody will find it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Generalist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival the friendly and welcoming staff checked we were ok with our booking of an economic double room, warning us it was very small, we said it would be fine. He wasn't wrong, the room was small and didn't have a window. It was basic but comfortable and provided all we needed. By the end of our week's stay it was starting to get a little too snug, absolutely fine for a couple of nights. Any longer and you may want to consider upgrading to a better room.

The breakfast room provides a beautiful view over the bospherus and was a lovely start to the day. The breakfast buffet itself had the usual breads, cereals, meat and cheeses. Not of high quality and one morning the addition of ants in the jam was a little off putting, but the fresh coffee and cereal was enough for me.

If your trip is going to be predominantly based in Sulthanamet then this hotel is ideally situated close to all the main sights. We found that we preferred to venture further out, away from the tourist hotspots, but then the tram system isn't far away either.

Room Tip: The economy room is very small and dark (good if light disturbs your sleep). We stuck it out but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Superjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friendly staff,excellent location,good rooms,great breakfast at sea view restaurant.good choise.just near blue mosque.We will come here again.room rates are reasonable.
only a walking distance from the main attractions of Istanbul's ancient city. It is surrounded by nice shops, bars and restaurants. The management is very friendly, caring, and helpful.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you're looking for a 5-Star hotel, this is not your place. If you're even looking for a 3-Star place to lay your head, this might be pushing it. But... we were super spoiled for our first 3 nights in Istanbul, and we needed a cheaper place to sleep and store our stuff during the day... and this place fit the bill. Small, stuffy rooms and very indifferent staff, and definitely priced high for what they offer. BUT, if you're in Istanbul you shouldn't be sitting around in your room! This place was good enough for what we needed and, in all honesty, we probably would have been much happier here had we not lived in luxury for the 3 previous nights. The breakfast was not the best breakfast that we had in the city, but it was free nonetheless... so who's complaining?! AND, we spent a great evening on the top floor looking out over the sea and enjoying a bottle of wine... and sunning ourselves on the itty-bitty terrace the next morning (all alone each time, so it seemed like our own private little get-a-way!) so we did get our use out of those amenities. PLUS the owner let us keep our stuff in his office the WHOLE next day (we had a red-eye flight) and he booked us our airport transfer. Not overly helpful, but helpful nonetheless. Not recommended for families or a romantic get-away, but any weary traveler will be happy with what Cem Sultan has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 30stampsin30years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

SMALL rooms, high price, ancient commodities and indifferent staff.

The only good thing is the location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My 1st choice of hotel was booked, so they recommended the Cem Sultan Hotel. I took a chance, and walked the 5 minutes to visit hotel. Pleasantly surprised. For the ammenities, the hotel was overpriced (50 Euro). However, the price included taxes, buffet breakfast and wi-fi.
Some rooms have sea view. Rooms are small, yet clean.
The hotel is very convenient - 5-10 minutes walking distance to major attractions (Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, etc.). It's also 5 minutes to tram station to go out further.
Would stay here again if the price was lower.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lacalif11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#460 of 1,163 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#516 of 1,163 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#561 of 1,163 in Istanbul
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Inci Airport Hotel
#330 of 1,163 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Gulhane Corner Hotel
#553 of 1,163 in Istanbul
133 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel California Istanbul
Hotel California Istanbul
#987 of 1,163 in Istanbul
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cem Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cem Sultan Hotel

Address: Kutlugun Sokak No : 18, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $13 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cem Sultan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cem Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cem Sultan
Cem Sultan Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing