We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location but tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantic Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #364 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“convenient location but tiny room”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Last summer we stayed in this hotel and were somewhat satisfied with our stay because we booked it through booking.com with discount.
Otherwise I would agree with reviewers who called with hotel overpriced and over rated.
Room was really tiny and looked quite 'weary' with piles of dust under the bed and stains on bedcover.
Railroad behind the hotel produced a lot of noise. It's was very disturbing at night because we slept with open windows (we didn't use air conditioner at night because it's directed right to the bed and actually is very close to the bed since the room is really small, so it feels awful when cool air from air conditioner blows right at you all night long).
Breakfast was served on the rooftop with beautiful view, as mentioned a lot in other reviews, but food was same every morning and of rather poor assortment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga_and_Leonid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    117
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
82
185
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay at the Romantic Hotel was very pleasant. The place is nicely decorated and the view of the rooftop is very beautiful. Especially the location of the hotel is worth a visit, as it is in the centre of Sultanahmed and various sites, such as the Hagia Sophia, can be reached by a foot. The hotel is situated in a smaller street and therefore isn't too noisy in the night. Adding to that the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

May 2013 is my 2nd stay at this hotel. My 1st stay was Oct 2012. The hotel is clean, safe and has the best staff: very friendly and accommodating. The reception area & rooms are newly renovated & the decorations are superb. I'm a solo traveler; the staff made me feel like part of a family. The hotel is also walking distance to the light rail, Hagia Sofia, Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Istanbul Archeological Museum, etc, The breakfast is great and has nice view of the Marmara Sea & Blue Mosque. I highly recommend Romantic Hotel. I will always stay here whenever I am in Istanbul ;-)

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms facing the Marmara Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This charming boutique hotel couldn't be better located, several blocks down from the beautiful Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and the Hippodrome. The area has many restaurants right up the street, around the corner. This is the prime tourist area.

The star of the Hotel is a threesome, the manager son of the family owned hotel, a true animal lover and a gentleman, and his two parrots, Kermit and Ruby Rose. Kermit is quite a personality and comes and goes from his cage at will. He loved to sit on my husband's shoulder. We couldn't come or go without stopping to visit Kermit and Ruby.(Kermit's wife)

The breakfast was lovely, and peaceful every morning on the rooftop terrace with its view of the Bosphuras, Blue Mosque and pigeons flying over the rooftops. It is under cover but all glass sides for a protected and cozy feel.

Hotel was spotless and very well maintained. There is a safe in the room, a nice surprise.
We walked every day up to the main street where the metro runs at street level. Easy walk. We even walked to the Bazaar by following the Metro tracks down that main st.

Bill and Deborah Gallagher Columbia Maryland USA

Room Tip: we were in the front first floor and street was noisy with some folks still out at midnight, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah G g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was truly satisfied with it's location (close to historic city center and places of interest).
The hotel itself is a nice and clean and truly romantic place, nice for couples and travellers.
Most of all I admired the breakfast served on the roof. The breakfast by itself was delicious and various but it was also about the view that made it even more charming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocaeli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend and with my Japanese partners for many times. It has a perfect location and view, very friendly staff, decoration with full of ART, perfect breakfast at roof, etc...As I am recently living in another city, I feel Romantic Hotel like home in Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YusufKURT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family during easter holidays.
Location is very good, in the center of Sultanamet. close to Blue mosque and Ayasofiya.
Hotel Manager Erdal is very friendly. They have 2 Parrots in the reception. They entertained my both kids. Rooms are very well decorated and spacious enough.
I will stay again if it happens to visit Istanbul in the future.

Room Tip: You can contact hotel manager Erdal directly for the booking. He is very helpful man.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somnathsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#164 of 1,154 in Istanbul
531 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#336 of 1,154 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#428 of 1,154 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#522 of 1,154 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#574 of 1,154 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Daphne Hotel
Daphne Hotel
#275 of 1,154 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Istanbul

Property: Romantic Hotel Istanbul
Address: Mimar Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok.No 17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Romantic Hotel Istanbul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Istanbul is an old Ottoman stone mansion built at the beginning of the 1900's. It was renewed in 2007 and was named Romantic Hotel Istanbul. The hotel is located in the most historical part of Istanbul called "Sultanahmet." (The Old City-A gate to take you back to the history) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Romantic Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing