We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Sultanahmed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantic Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #383 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay at the Romantic Hotel was very pleasant. The place is nicely decorated and the view of the rooftop is very beautiful. Especially the location of the hotel is worth a visit, as it is in the centre of Sultanahmed and various sites, such as the Hagia Sophia, can be reached by a foot. The hotel is situated in a smaller street and therefore isn't too noisy in the night. Adding to that the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 374 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

May 2013 is my 2nd stay at this hotel. My 1st stay was Oct 2012. The hotel is clean, safe and has the best staff: very friendly and accommodating. The reception area & rooms are newly renovated & the decorations are superb. I'm a solo traveler; the staff made me feel like part of a family. The hotel is also walking distance to the light rail, Hagia Sofia, Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Istanbul Archeological Museum, etc, The breakfast is great and has nice view of the Marmara Sea & Blue Mosque. I highly recommend Romantic Hotel. I will always stay here whenever I am in Istanbul ;-)

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms facing the Marmara Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This charming boutique hotel couldn't be better located, several blocks down from the beautiful Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and the Hippodrome. The area has many restaurants right up the street, around the corner. This is the prime tourist area.

The star of the Hotel is a threesome, the manager son of the family owned hotel, a true animal lover and a gentleman, and his two parrots, Kermit and Ruby Rose. Kermit is quite a personality and comes and goes from his cage at will. He loved to sit on my husband's shoulder. We couldn't come or go without stopping to visit Kermit and Ruby.(Kermit's wife)

The breakfast was lovely, and peaceful every morning on the rooftop terrace with its view of the Bosphuras, Blue Mosque and pigeons flying over the rooftops. It is under cover but all glass sides for a protected and cozy feel.

Hotel was spotless and very well maintained. There is a safe in the room, a nice surprise.
We walked every day up to the main street where the metro runs at street level. Easy walk. We even walked to the Bazaar by following the Metro tracks down that main st.

Bill and Deborah Gallagher Columbia Maryland USA

Room Tip: we were in the front first floor and street was noisy with some folks still out at midnight, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah G g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was truly satisfied with it's location (close to historic city center and places of interest).
The hotel itself is a nice and clean and truly romantic place, nice for couples and travellers.
Most of all I admired the breakfast served on the roof. The breakfast by itself was delicious and various but it was also about the view that made it even more charming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tetiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend and with my Japanese partners for many times. It has a perfect location and view, very friendly staff, decoration with full of ART, perfect breakfast at roof, etc...As I am recently living in another city, I feel Romantic Hotel like home in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YusufKURT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family during easter holidays.
Location is very good, in the center of Sultanamet. close to Blue mosque and Ayasofiya.
Hotel Manager Erdal is very friendly. They have 2 Parrots in the reception. They entertained my both kids. Rooms are very well decorated and spacious enough.
I will stay again if it happens to visit Istanbul in the future.

Room Tip: You can contact hotel manager Erdal directly for the booking. He is very helpful man.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somnathsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on march 2013. The location of the hotel is at the heart of the historical town centre.
Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and other historical objects are just a few minutes away.
The hotel has recently underwent a restauration, it's clean and tidy.
The staff is very helpfull, paying attention to all the needs of the guests.
Lots of thanks to them! We will for sure be back again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violeta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#579 of 1,163 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#129 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#275 of 1,163 in Istanbul
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#212 of 1,163 in Istanbul
171 reviews
Sultanahmet
Divalis Hotel
Divalis Hotel
#267 of 1,163 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#276 of 1,163 in Istanbul
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Istanbul

Address: Mimar Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok.No 17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $36 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Romantic Hotel Istanbul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Istanbul is an old Ottoman stone mansion built at the beginning of the 1900's. It was renewed in 2007 and was named Romantic Hotel Istanbul. The hotel is located in the most historical part of Istanbul called "Sultanahmet." (The Old City-A gate to take you back to the history) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Romantic Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing