We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight in the Sultanahmet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantic Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #378 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
cape town, south africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Delight in the Sultanahmet”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A charming small hotel a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. The staff was a delight. Orhan always helpful on night shift and big strong Atilla who managed my luggage up and down those stairs. The rooftop for breakfast or a sunset drink is divine. It appears you can touch the Blue Mosque just outside the window. The Bospherous flowing by full of all manner of vessels. You couldn't want for a better location.
It is small, the rooms are small, the stairs are narrow, but all part of the charm.
The breakfasts are lovely with pomegranite and rose petel jams. I am an oliver lover and there were plenty to choose from each morning.
We spent 3 nights at the start fo our Turkey adventure and 4 at the end.
This staff was definately some of the nicest men we met in Turkey.

Room Tip: Request the lower rooms if you don't want to climb loads of stairs each day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blanche62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    116
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
185
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Romantic Hotel cute, small, hand made hotel. Which guys like family. You can see everywhere hand made stuffs. They care you and your comfort.

Thanks for Mr. Atilla to help us what ever we need.

When i go Istanbul again i will go Romantic Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The location and the roof top view are the only positive things to say about this hotel. The room was not clean, the wall paper was pealing and yellowing off the wall, the shower overflowed onto the bathroom floor and although we reported this nothing was ever done. We travelled with another couple who also agreed that the cleanliness of the rooms left alot to be desired. Their room had black mold in the bathroom. I believe the price is high for the quality (or lack of) at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TYJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our experience staying here was great. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They even got us off to the airport at 4:30 am. The terrace is lovely with a spectaclur views. The hotel is close to everything we wanted. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were recommended this hotel and it seemed perfect for a short stay in Istanbul. We spent a happy few days there although the place itself is a little run down. The rooms are very small and the facilities a bit less than ideal. Breakfast was passable but not that much choice, although the view on the roof is great. But apart from this, the staff were really helpful and went out of their way to sort out small issues such as a blocked shower drain and the request for an extra pillow. They arranged airport transfers and a visit to a Haman. We also fell for the resident parrot Kermit, a loveable bird! Overall, good value for money and a great location in an exciting and beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seemoreplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucas, ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am at this hotel now. My first night. my husbands room is in the basement. It is cold, dark, airless, ugly and noisy. Since he is hard of hearing, he thought it would be tolerable but it is not, My room is above his, facing the street. There is a bench below my window, and for two hours between 8 and 10 there were 5 or 6 males there having a gab fest, nice enough people, but after two hours of trying to sleep, (even with an overnight flight with no sleep) I got dressed, went down and pointed to my window, They dispursed, but in no time more were at it again, they all seem to be employees of the hotels and restaurants in this area. The view from the top is ok, the rooms are not terribly dirty, but dreary, and if you cannot sleep, really nothing much else is going to make you happy. We plan to move tomorrow.

Room Tip: don't stay in a street front room, don't know about the rest of the building. Do not look un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were lucky enough to have chosen The Romantic Hotel for our recent stay in Istanbul on the way to Africa. The location was incredibly perfect, and all the sights and fantastic restaurants (especially our very favorite-The Cozy Garden) are within an easy walking distance. Breakfast on the terrace was such a lovely way to begin the day, and we felt like we could almost reach out and touch the Blue Mosque and the Bosphorous. We stayed in the spacious and lovely Dolmabahce Suite, and daily enjoyed a glass of wine on our private balcony with its full-on view of the Bosphorous after amazing sight-seeing. Erdal and Atilia could not have possibly been more kind and accommodating and helped make our stay so memorable. The location does NOT get better, and if you, like us, prefer a city's authentic flavor and experience to a "could be anywhere" high rise hotel, this is the place for you. We loved every single second of our stay at The Romantic Hotel!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, stay in the Dolmabahce Suite, but every person we spoke with thoroughly enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salliebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#501 of 1,140 in Istanbul
295 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#339 of 1,140 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#576 of 1,140 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#172 of 1,140 in Istanbul
526 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#130 of 1,140 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#305 of 1,140 in Istanbul
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Istanbul

Property: Romantic Hotel Istanbul
Address: Mimar Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok.No 17 | Sultanahmet (old city ), Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Romantic Hotel Istanbul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Istanbul is an old Ottoman stone mansion built at the beginning of the 1900's. It was renewed in 2007 and was named Romantic Hotel Istanbul. The hotel is located in the most historical part of Istanbul called "Sultanahmet." (The Old City-A gate to take you back to the history) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Romantic Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing