We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Censorship is the name of the game”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North
Ranked #81 of 1,028 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Cairo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Censorship is the name of the game”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I was shocked with the small notice in the room saying that to access internet the guest has to provide the passport number used in registration as a user name, it also mentions that all websites visited are monitored and guest might be denied access!! Also since hotel is remotely located, the shuttle bus frequency to both airport and city must be increased. The newly installed LED sign at the arrival stand for shuttle bus stop is illegible when standing on the pavement, and one has to cross the street to read it!!! Apart from that the hotel has a very appealing and relaxing contemporary design, but the open buffet hot items are VERY limited.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazemHussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    230
    133
    33
    16
See reviews for
51
80
62
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Although this is called an airport hotel it is a good 15 minute taxi ride (about 20TL) away. This is not a hugely bad thing as it is at least quiet. There is nothing within walking distance so when you are there, you are a bit isolated.

Check in was quick, I was offered breakfast at 20EUR (rip off) and the option of an executive room upgrade 60EUR.

The hotel has a nice design but all hallways on the room floors are VERY dark and finding the slot to insert your key into to connect the power in the room can be tricky. Rooms are nicely presented and are quite large and more importantly quiet. The only complaint was the shower floods the whole bathroom.

Food in the restaurant was nice and service pleasant.

The coffee shop in the foyer was a cheaper alternative for breakfast although I think 11TL was too much for a coffee.

The 15th floor bar was closed when I wanted to use it and I never made it to the gym.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lots of pluses: 15 minutes from the airport, decent and efficient, excellent food at the Tulip Restaurant and free WiFi in the room and restaurant, but falls short on other points ... The shuttle service is too infrequent (of four transfers I only managed to use the shuttle once), still a taxi only costs TL10, €9; the last shutlle service to town leaves the hotel at 13.30 hours- far too early.reception staff appear to be unaware that the hotel has free WiFi - I was specifically told that it has not and given a cable to plug into in the room. It's advertisied as five-star but you get no dressing gown and no slippers in the room. At €142 per night including breakfast, I thought it was a little pricey for what it offered. Buffet at the Tulip restaurant came to about €50 but it did include a €20 half-bottle of red wine - I thought I ordered a €15 half-bottle. All in all I'm not sure I'll stay there again mostly because I feel I was cheated with the wine. It is a long distance from downtown and there does not seem to be much going on in the hotel vicinity. Oh yes, and the sites you visit on the internet are monitored, so you have no privac, and censored! It flagged my company email site as a restricted domain and did not allow me access! I wasn't too impressed.

Room Tip: Both rooms I used were pokey for a five-star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I spend two night in this hotel which was close to were I had to be. The hotel is located near the ariport but far from the city center. There is not a lot to do in the neighbourhood of the hotel except two shopping centers.

The room is spacious and has a fast internet connection. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and can speak english. The hotel is recently new but the bathroom has some issues with mold around the bathtub.

Breakfast is quite nice.

But overall nice stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huguesheylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILANO
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel is perfect for business. Close to the Ataturk airport and to the CNR (trade fair).
Rooms are spacious, silent and clean, with all comforts. Good general services, very equipped and nice spa. Great breakfast in quality & variety of foods. Restaurants unfortunately not very good but it is quite normal in business hotels. I had a very nice stay.
If you plan to go to Istanbul for holiday you'd better choose another hotel as the hotel is very far from the city center and the traffic in Istanbul is terrific.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FERDY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is very good in ambience and well maintained. I have stayed in this hotel during my business trip to Turkey. Hotel staff is very friendly and decent. Buffet breakfast offers many varieties of food and Hotel Chef's can prepare food according to your choice (especially for vegetarians) also for Lunch & Dinner. Rooms are very clean which is important to get relaxed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is fantastic, only stayed there one night, but really modern, excellent staff helpful and friendly.

My comment is more towards the "Holiday Inn online booking", I prepaid the room online in Euros with my credit card. I live in Switzerland, and now I receive my credit card statement of a payment made in Turkish Lira and then changed to CHF. I did not pay in Turkish liras !!! so why this invoicing.

Weird !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_traveler_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
Wyndham Istanbul Old City
#157 of 1,129 in Istanbul
798 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#112 of 1,129 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#296 of 1,129 in Istanbul
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,129 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#225 of 1,129 in Istanbul
104 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#528 of 1,129 in Istanbul
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North

Property: Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North
Address: Tasocagi Yolu Cad. No 35 Mahmutbey, Bagcilar, Istanbul 34217, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,028 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North has an impressive reputation for outstanding individual service, making it an excellent choice for the business and leisure guest. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North is situated in Mahmutbey district at the European side, Easy access to Ataturk International and Domestic Airport terminals. Complimentary shuttle bus available from the airport terminals to the hotel and back (airport shuttle from 06 am to 01 am). Taxis available at the hotel on request.Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers 330 bedrooms, with 22 suites, 50 executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers Spa and Fitness center, Indoor swimming pool, Whirlpool seperate Sauna, Steamroom and Hammam for ladies and gentelmen. The hotel is equipped with wireless internet access in all public areas, meeting rooms and executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers a choice of two specialty restaurants, two bars and 24 hours room service; as well as a complete range of conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing