We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but the online booking.......a bit weird”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North
Ranked #83 of 1,103 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is fantastic, only stayed there one night, but really modern, excellent staff helpful and friendly.

My comment is more towards the "Holiday Inn online booking", I prepaid the room online in Euros with my credit card. I live in Switzerland, and now I receive my credit card statement of a payment made in Turkish Lira and then changed to CHF. I did not pay in Turkish liras !!! so why this invoicing.

Weird !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_traveler_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 520 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

If you have an early morning flight out of Ataturk Istanbul International airport it makes good sense to transfer to a hotel nearby and who runs a free shuttle service. You need to book the day before to avail of this free shuttle that runs hourly from 6 am.
This hotel has all that plus a nice restaurant and good room service. It also has free wifi at the lobby.
Only disadvantage is the new modern design rooms have no place to store luggage except on the floor along the aisle.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have been staying in this hotel several times over the last 2 years for doing business near the airport. It's only a few years old and maintained pretty well, the rooms are large and quite stylish and the rates are good. The buffet breakfast offers a huge selection and the internet (if it works that is) is free of charge. Drawbacks: Internet didn't work on several occasions, or the Wifi is down and you need to connect by cable. And the name 'Istanbul Airport' is a little misleading, it's a EUR 7-10 taxi ride (or free hotel bus but that never suited my timings) from/to the airport taking a minimum of 10, during rush hour up to 20/25 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

After having stayed for 5 nights at the Airport Holiday Inn Istanbul, I have mixed feelings. For some aspects the hotel is excellent: comfortable rooms, great conference facilities, several restaurants with good food. For some other aspects, however, the hotel is really bad. The staff seems quite unprepared: very poor english, very limited flexibility and preparedness. The position of the hotel is not ideal if you plan to visit the city: it is far from all means of transportation, and you have to get a taxi if you want to catch any bus, metro or go directly downtown. The freeof-charge shuttle that allows guests of the hotel to go downtown contains a maximum of 15 people, and has to be booked at least two days in advance because it is always fully booked.

Overall, I was a little disappointed with my staying at the Airport Holiday Inn, considering that it is a 5 stars and prices are not cheap. I suggest to the management to provide proper trainings to its staff, and make sure they really do understand and properly speak english.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scodazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel has a nice property but the service is horrible! they don't get you right! and you should not expect to receive the service you would like to get from a five star hotel staff.
they claim to have a free shuttle bus to the city center. this is true, but for a 200+ room hotel, there is only ONE shuttle which can accommodate around 15 individuals and runs only 3 times a day. practically, whenever you want it, it is already booked! and since the place is in the middle of no where, you end up paying 35-50 TL for each way of trip to Taksim, which takes around one hour.
This is not at all a place for leisure travelers to Istanbul.... for business travelers, it can be different.

Room Tip: ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ariabod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The floor is supposed to be non-smoking, and yet.
Anyway, the rooms are clean and large, sound insulation was good, I got a good night of sleep after the flight.
The internet broke down for 5 hours and made a mess since I need to go online to get some work done. It was all fixed at the end but an agonizing wait before that.
Breakfast was excellent. More westernized than most Turkish hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subtarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay there
When I turned on the LCD TV, i read my name and a welcome on the TV screen. Surprise!!
I love the fitness room
various fruits can be found at breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junsurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
#167 of 1,173 in Istanbul
298 reviews
My Home Sultanahmet
#654 of 1,173 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Victory Hotel And Spa
Victory Hotel And Spa
#710 of 1,173 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Sultanahmet
Blue Eye Suites
Blue Eye Suites
#137 of 1,103 in Istanbul
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North

Address: Tasocagi Yolu Cad. No 35 Mahmutbey, Bagcilar, Istanbul 34217, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,103 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $60 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North has an impressive reputation for outstanding individual service, making it an excellent choice for the business and leisure guest. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North is situated in Mahmutbey district at the European side, Easy access to Ataturk International and Domestic Airport terminals. Complimentary shuttle bus available from the airport terminals to the hotel and back (airport shuttle from 06 am to 01 am). Taxis available at the hotel on request.Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers 330 bedrooms, with 22 suites, 50 executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers Spa and Fitness center, Indoor swimming pool, Whirlpool seperate Sauna, Steamroom and Hammam for ladies and gentelmen. The hotel is equipped with wireless internet access in all public areas, meeting rooms and executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers a choice of two specialty restaurants, two bars and 24 hours room service; as well as a complete range of conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing