We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Turkish Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YanyalI Fehmi LokantasI

YanyalI Fehmi LokantasI
Reserve with
YanyalI Fehmi LokantasI is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #529 of 13,373 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Excellent Turkish Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

While in Istanbul, we looked up restaurant ideas from Tom Brosnahan's site. He recommended Yanhali, which is in Kadikoy, just a ferry ride from Istanbul to the Asian side of Istanbul. We found it without problems and it's excellent. Engin Sonmezler spoke English, we think he is either the owner or general manager. He took excellent care of us. He gave us an excellent appetizer while we waited for our lamb main dish. The lamb was delicious. After the appetizer & main dish, we decided against a dessert. However, Engin brought over 2 fun traditional dessert dishes to try. He did not charge us for the appetizer or desserts! I would return to this restaurant and HIGHLY recommend others visit it too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LDBJEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    43
    19
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb Turkish cuisine at excellent prices. A real must when in Istanbul.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I visit Istanbul fairly regularly and have found myself in Kadikoy a couple of times recently. I found this place on my first visit and now even if I am not in the immediate region I intend to make the detour to eat here. Wonderful Kelle Paca and Iskembe and apart from soups the menu is wide and varied. Service was excellent and the waiters friendly and informative. Prices good and represents super value for money. As others have pointed out this restaurant proves that bthere is more to Turkish cuisine than the kebab, not that I am against a tasty kebab of course!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DFStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You should eat food must be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

a great restaurant where you can find all of the traditional cuisine.All meals are made with vegetable oil. There are more than 100 traditional dinner menu. incredibly delicious. successful catering service. The friendly waiters. have a secret garden in the inner part. You're in the middle of the Kadıköy. Kadikoy is a very lively, full tourist destination. You pay nearly 20 dolor account per person. Always chosen restaurant in Turkey in the year. you must visit here. Enjoy your meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Burak E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoy great dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Yanyali Fehmi reataurant is located in Anatolian side of the city. If you stay in European side, with a short, but very nice ferry trip you can easily go there. If you think turkish cuisine includes only kebap, you will be very suprised when you are there.
This restaurant is especially very good at vegetable dishes made with olive oil. I strongly recommend to try artichoke cooked with small cubes of patatoes, shallot, carrot, green peas and dill. You can add some lemon juice on it and eat with small hot pittas served to you. Besides, if you like meat you can try kebab with shallots. It is made of lamb meat cooked with shallots for a long time. If you ask they can serve it as a small portion after any of the dishes you want to try. Besides, there they serve a milk dessert called "chicken breast", it is an amazing taste.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank burcinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Turkish Food ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Definetly it's worth to try. You can find a wide variety of Turkish Food.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bas-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YanyalI Fehmi LokantasI also viewed

 

Been to YanyalI Fehmi LokantasI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing