We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Balikci Sabahattin

Balikci Sabahattin
Ranked #204 of 13,612 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very good restaurant in Sultanahmed. Freshest fish, nice decor, good wines, all perfect! Nice terrace, 5 min walk to the see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dkouzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    243
    110
    83
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average fare”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had hoped to dine on tables that lined a small cobbled street as depicted in the photo in our guidebook. As it was we ended up at a table upstairs inside the house. There were a lot of large groups in this busy restaurant, which is testimony to the decent food but not conducive to an authentic experience. The waiters were surly and brusque and basically 'told' us what we were having as opposed to offering suggestions. The fish was tasty and fresh but could've been dramatically improved with more elegant accompaniments rather than the cumbersome salad that was plonked in our table.

Helpful?
Thank Elly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanvald, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood and Turkish starters”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our guide recommended us this restaurant and it was best dinner during our four-day trip to Istanbul.
A selection of starters is simple because the waiter brings, shows and explains you most of them at the table. It is the same with raw fish. After a few really delicious appetizers we ordered a whole St. Peter´s fish that was one of the best I have ever had. Just the break was to long, we had to repeatedly push waiters. Let there be forgiven for good food. Also wine was excellent - Turkish Chardonnay, it was better then Langhe Chardonnay from Gaja.
It was a little expensive but worth it. Go there if you like seafood!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Anse
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Taste of the Bosphorous in Istanbul”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

In a small back road away from the hectic Akbiyik Cd. restaurants we saw many locals and BMW's, Merc's parking. We reserved an early table but still got seated on 2nd floor. Not a problem as the fish was delish, local wine was very fine and service was OK (with some prompting).
Hot bread basket and a spicy tapenade was moreish - water and wine served fast. Mixed green salad was fresh and beautifully dressed. We had large grilled tiger prawns with perfect garlic oil, followed by a lovely grilled lobster (superb smoky dressing I could not identify) for my wife and grilled whole sea bass with perfectly crisp edible skin for me. No need for fries with fish like this.
A freebie dessert plate of strawberries, delicate semolina Pud and ice cream arrived to persuade us to gee up and free the table as the queues built up. Best meal we had in all Istanbul.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerrilD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Despite being insanely popular and touristic Sabahattin is one of the very few restaurants that never compromised on quality and attention to detail.

I hope it never changes

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karolineasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balikci Sabahattin also viewed

 

Been to Balikci Sabahattin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing