We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to drink rakı...”

Ismet Baba Restaurant
Ranked #914 of 13,529 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Uskudar
istanbul
Level Contributor
1 review
“nice place to drink rakı...”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice wiev, respectful staff... nice ambiance... very good food... don't miss liver... aldo all the fishes are nice and very fresh... be careful, credit cards doesn't acepted... but if you ve forgotten to bring money, the is a bank in 20 m far to withdraw cash...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    11
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Just as delicious as ever!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Attentive staff, amazing meze, superb fish. And with a panoramic view of the Bosphorus, from the Asian side. A favorite of ours!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanusa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Ok, nothing special”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Kuzguncuk, just 100 meters from the restaurant. Our local food guide given by the Istanbul Eats Walks advised among many restaurants Ismet Baba. We decided to step in on Saturday early evening.
Even the restaurant was almost empty (with reservation signs on same tables), I didn’t feel that we are welcomed. Feeling was more than at eatery – and it was our most expensive meal at Istanbul (126 TL - 3 mezes, 2 portions of local fish). Service gave me impression that we are expected to leave asap.
Food was ok, but nothing to remember. No special spices or hints from the cook. We tried yoghurt, salad, and calamari. My favourite was marinated calamari at Ismet Baba – it was very soft.
Fish was ok, but portion was oversized. We chose just right size fish at the counter, but there were two of them on plate per person we didn’t ask.
Best part of restaurant is view to Bosporus, but because our rented apartment has same view, it was hard to impress.
Just in comparison: for next two evenings we committed to Inciralti, two bus stops away. No Bosporus view inside, but real local gourmet kitchen, most welcome feeling and reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Lovely Place in The Lovely Bosphorus Town”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

A great place to dine, really. Always fresh fish and fresh appetizers... Be there earlier for the dinner and walk around in Kuzguncuk to explore the utmost old Bosphorus town experience. You won't be regretting for sure. We love it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers-Oracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“V good”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Real traditional bosphorus fish restaurant.
Fast,clean and casual usually nice and fresh fish we likes mezze.
İ dont like fried calamar!!!
Only CASH work

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chefservo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ismet Baba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ismet Baba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing