We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveler rating
995
553
228
84
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
995
553
228
84
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews w insider hotel is located turkey location is great restaurants and bars old city concierge cabana faruk neighborhood isa bosphorus properties taxis closet nightlife kabatas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016

The best and foremost thing that can be said about this hotel is its location, its in close proximity to the trendy/upscale part of town (nisintasi etc) and very close to the Besiktas market with many pubs/bars/cafes as well as some nice restaurants/brasseries... all in all this hotel is close to many attractions whilst being away from the main hustle and bustle of a major cosmopolitan city that is Istanbul.

The amenities in this hotel are as what you would expect from a boutique hotel and one should not confuse it with with a large 5star hotel with a large reception and big lobby area... expect small "maze like" hallways with a low-key presence. I think this hotel is best suited for couples on a getaway break... The staff are very polite and helpful, especially the Insider girl at the concierge "ezgi" whom helped us a lot on our trip and seemed very resourceful on the nightlife events and latest happenings in town.

Undoubtedly you will take a selfie within the entrance hallway...

Room tip: avoid the rooms new streets if you prefer to stay away from the street noise...
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Vicarious53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2016

Dear W Guest,

Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience here at W Istanbul! The Akaretler Neighbourhood is certainly a pivot point for the city. It is where the upscale Nişantaşı meets the breathtaking Bosphorus, where the traditional gems of Istanbul embrace the local Beşiktaş and where decades of history converge on the cutting edge design of Mahmut Anlar.

Of course, such a historical building comes with its quirks. That's why we offer an escape from the ever-awake lifestyle of Istanbul by losing your way in the labyrinth that is W Istanbul. Bear in mind, upon losing your way; you will come across a Whatever / Whenever service attitude and insider tips about the pulse of Istanbul!

So come on down! Repeat your getaway and spoil yourself on all that the gem of Istanbul has to offer.

Warm Wishes,

Christian Hoehn, General Manager
W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

This trip was made at short notice we decided to travel to Istanbul after checking the flights and Hotels on Trip advisor and Booking.com. Initially my preference for Hotels is Marriott , however after looking at the availability and location we decided on the W Istanbul . This would be our first time at a W hotel .A hotel Brand that is supposed to cater for the young and trendy. We being not young and perhaps not as trendy were slightly apprehensive about our first stay at a W hotel .
The W hotel is located in area called Besiktas ( Beshiktash) close to Dolmabahche Palace on the Europe side . Very close to the Besiktas Ferry terminal and restaurants and bars that line the Bosphorus Strait. .The Hotel is located in a converted buildings in the historic neighborhood of Akaratier. However as you enter you get an impression that you are entering a night club, with a lot mirrored glass along the corridor that leads you to the check in area. The check was done promptly .The staff all very warm and genuinely friendly. The ."Wonderful Room" as the room is called had all the mod cons that one needs The design of the rooms are modern but a the same time a touch of the Ottoman influence cannot be missed . The room was on the 3 rd floor and was quiet and overlooked the garden area and was reasonably bright . The widows opened to allow for fresh air to mix in with the air con if one so desired . Two phones , 32 Flat screen TV Desk and chair plus a single seat sofa made up the furniture. The bed was large enough to sleep 3 people. The bathroom was something we needed to get used to as it was part of the room . The design was such, that each part of the bathroom was a separate unit. As you enter the room you had the toilet with its own door and adjacent to the toilet you had the shower with . On the opposite side was the the Mirror and wash basin and this also had folding doors ,so as to be able to close of the area when not needed. It helps if one wants to have a shower , while one wants to use the toilet . Efficiency in space and also of time. The other great point about the room was the free 4g phone that had unlimited data and free calls to local numbers. Also a great camera that you could sync to it to your email and send photos to various app like facebook , email etc. Also loaded where great info on museums, shopping and things to do in Istanbul. Also you have a mini bar that is stocked and two complimentary bottles of water per day. There are sufficient plug points for your devices . Wifi is free.
Our Roome rates included breakfast in the W lounge located on the 2 nd Floor . Timings were very leisurely 6 -11am. The Staff again really friendly and helpful . Lots of variety for eating , however no choices with Milk choices Like Soya or Almond
The Gym is reasonably equipped and I was the only one using it . The equipment is primarily TECNOGYM and is in good shape. The W also has a Wellness Spa if you are so inclined . The W doesn't have a pool on site but do have a deal with a nearby outlet called the Sauda 360 Overall the best point of the Hotel is its location as its walking distance to the Besiktash ferry terminal , Kabatash ( tram station ) and able to catch a taxi just outside of the hotel. Can't say enough about the Staff especially Turgay who always seemed to be there to help us . Whether its was the selection of rooms , our luggage or offering us solutions for travel or restaurants. Also Gem in concierge provided us great tips for short excursions in Istanbul and generally arranging for restaurant reservations and chatting with us and giving the feel of Istanbul. The staff at breakfast were really amazing , offering us different options during our stay. Check in an check out was also great We asked for a late check out and they were very helpful.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maqsood S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Dear W Guest,

I'm your travel plans brought you here to W Istanbul! Even more glad that you took the time to describe your stay so beautifully.

Our building was restored from the Dolmabahçe extension it used to be, to a remix of Ottoman traditional and 21st century design. So your observation is spot on!

You also seem to have enjoyed our Handy service where you get a complementary smartphone with a local package to use during your stay. And the FIT; the cool glass cube where you can enjoy concentrated workouts.

Reading about all that you did here makes me think you're as "trendy" and hip as any of us! You seem to have lived both W and Istanbul to the fullest!

Stay Trendy!

Christian Hoehn, General Manager
W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

Don't get me wrong I do stay at the W hotels all over the world but this hotel was like a mafia hotel in a 007 movie. Fl dark inside. Very small hallways. The entrance was busy. The hotel in general was not like other W hotels. I did not enjoy my stay there. My opinion has nothing to do with the quality or service. My problem is the building and the structure. Service was very good. The value was good. The food was very good. The room was very nice. I still remember the concierge person he was very helpful and very friendly. I hope my comment will not change your mind about this hotel but it's a review and I want to be honest. Enjoy your stay and best regards. Dr SD 2016.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DrSDahlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Kind Dr. Saig,

I'm awfully sorry to hear that your stay didn't live up to the expectation. Still, I thank you for your honesty and time. The Leading Tunnel can get a bit busy sometimes and the structure of the historical building leaves no room for larger hallways.

I personally enjoy the history stored in between the hallways and the modern twist on every corner. Still, it's pleasant to see that you were satisfied with the service and value. We do our best to maintain our Whatever/Whenever attitude and it's nice to see that our guests find it helpful.

I still hope you visit us again and we'll do our best to change your mind!

Wholeheartedly,

Christian Hoehn, General Manager
W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the W. There was several staff that helped me. One of the managers Sukru Guler went above and beyond in assisting me. I'd definitely come back.

Rooms are great. Close to restraunts and a short trip to all the main sites like Blue Mosque. All in all very happy.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Aziz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Dear Aziz,

Thanks a million for your kind words and rating. I'm glad that you were satisfied with our talents and their Whatever/Whenever attitude in terms of service.

Come again to enjoy the wonders of Istanbul from its heart, the beautiful Akaretler Neighborhood where history and the 21st century embrace.

Cordially,

Christian Hoehn, General Manager
W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is so amazing, rooms are so nice and comfy, staff were very wonderful and very helpful from the time we checked in till we checked out.
At the beginning i thought we did mistake by paying 9 nights in advance, thought i might find something else in better place, however, i shortly realized that i was very lucky to stay in W istanbul for the 9 nights.

Location is the most important thing, and frankly the area was so great with shops and restaurants around the corner, and people around the area will always smile and help you with anything u ask for. Its close to Taksim, walking would guess 15-20min max, by private taxi 5min and costs 15max, buy public taxi its 5min n costs 2.5 TL per person and its very easy to get in. Walking distance to tram that takes you all the way to Sultanahmet. Less than 8min walk to ferries which takes you to basically everywhere.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and the next time i will go to Istanbul, i would be going there.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank falobaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear W Guest,

Thanks a bunch for your thoughtful words. Your comment is exactly why we call the Akaretler Neighborhood a "destination within a destination". We're blessed with a surrounding where traditional meets modern, local meets international and Asia meets Europe. In the heart of Beşiktaş, we can still keep up with the pulse of Istanbul and enjoy a luxurious getaway.

In hopes of welcoming you for the second time soon!

Cordially,

Christian Hoehn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews