We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #122 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
240 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Marvelous experience”
Reviewed December 26, 2008

My friend and I spent three nights at the W while on a weekend visit to Istanbul. It is very modern and trendy with lots of neon lights and amazingly comfortable beds. The location was just fine with an easy taxi ride to and from the major sights and the tram that goes all the way to the Sultanahmet is only one block away.

We took the opportunity to walk to several fun neighborhoods in the area to shop and eat. I highly recommend the Chocolate Café on the street to the right of the hotel entrance, back a block or two, for breakfast- especially if eggs and latte is your thing. Also the Nero Coffee Shop to the street on the left of the hotel entrance was a great place to get coffee and pastries from morning to night. The area around the hotel is big name shopping, so if Prada and Jimmy Choo’s are of interest, you will be in heaven. For most of us it is great window shopping.

While the ambience is certainly interesting, the very best part of the W is the staff. Every single person we met had a smile and friendly manner. Coming back in after a day of sightseeing really did feel like coming “home” with all the greetings and requests for a summation of our day’s adventures. I’ve been to many friendly hotels, but the Istanbul W far surpasses anything I’ve experienced before.

One suggestion for visitors; the concierge can arrange reservations to see the Mevlana Sufi Sema Ceremony (whirling dervishes). This is not a glitzy performance but a traditional sacred ceremony in which the mystical dance and spiritual music is presented in a very dignified manner. It was amazing and the highlight of our remarkable trip to Istanbul.

One warning for visitors; the hotel staff will get your taxi and make sure the driver knows where you are going and the meter is running. Be careful coming back via taxi! On one trip back to the hotel the meter was running when we started (I always check) but when we arrived the driver had obviously done something to the meter and it had a line of characters on it instead of the fare. He charged us 40 YTL which was the most expensive taxi trip we had including to/from the airport. So watch out.

  • Liked — comfortable beds and great staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WInsiderIstanbul, Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, January 4, 2009
It is really wonderful to hear you felt at home at W Istanbul. Thank you so much for your valuable comments and tips. Best wishes for 2009!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    427
    186
    55
    18
See reviews for
148
527
113
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

For the young at heart, as a typical W, this boutique hotel is dark and romantic. Super stylish and cool, with neon lights throughout, modern decor, and sensual aromas and music permeating the corridors.

What the room lacks in size (average by European standards), it makes up with in unique amenities (DVD player, IPOD docking station, glass enclosed TV, 5 different levels of lighting to create any level of mood in the room). The rooms' layout is different in that there really is not a separation from the bedroom area and the shower/sink and toilet area. Therefore, when you walk out of the shower, (and it is a great overhead rain shower, but there is no tub), out of the toilet or wash at the sink, you are viewed in the bedroom, which does not allow for privacy for the modest guest.

As stated before, the bedding is wonderful, but the minibar and services throughout the hotel are expensive. The staff is great, and knowledgeable and yes there are plenty of them. They were completeIy staffed when we left for an early morning flight at 4:30 in the morning!

As first time visitors to Istanbul, we did not find the location off putting. (You have the best of both worlds - the location is in the upscale redeveloped area of the city, with high end designer stores lining the streets, but one street over is the "real" local flair where you have everyday life, retail and grocery stores and restaurants). We liked the location because we were able to escape the hustle and bustle of Istanbul, (AND YOU WILL BE CONSTANTLY HUSTLED) yet join it when we chose.

Yes, the taxi driver had to ask for directions to the hotel from another driver upon our arrival, but we were able to use the local transportation, trams and buses with ease, once we were out and about. The hotel is not in Old Town, where the majority of the sites are located, but a 10-15 walk to the tram will get to there within another 10 minutes for a whopping 1.40 YTL! A Taxi cost about 10YTL, so it is a easy excursion either way.

We enjoyed our stay at the W. It is contemporary and fun. If unique is what you seek, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HopesandDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WInsiderIstanbul, Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 29, 2008
Hello from snowy Istanbul!
It is a real pleasure on our side to receive such elaborated reviews. Thank you so much.
" The best of two worlds" applies to the location, to the hotel and magical Istanbul, as well!
We wish you a wonderful new year and all the best! Visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

The W is still fairly new -- I believe it opened in May of this year.
The hotel is VERY hip -- while we were there, there were two celebrity parties complete with papparazzi!
Cab drivers, tour operators, and other hotel management seemed very impressed that we were staying at the W.
By European standards, the rooms are spacious -- not huge, but spacious. But they are dark.
The restaurant is VERY expensive and there are not a lot of places to eat nearby. The hotel is the flagship property in an urban renewal project.
The hotel is very close to the soccer stadium and a blue collar neighborhood. It's also across the street from one of the sultan's palaces and the ferry to the Asian side of the country.
This was my 3rd trip to Istanbul, so I was familiar with the various neighborhoods and how to reach them. If this were my first trip, I would have felt rather isoloated at the W. So I have to say the location is not really ideal for the first-time visitor (although one of the 4 seasons is down the road).
the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating.
one of the best aspects was the lounge area just off the main lobby. we utilized it each night to entertain friends traveling with us.
For people who enjoy the W hotels (like we do) this was 100% a W.

  • Liked — the lounge off the main lobby, the service
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaj2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I had not stayed in the W Brand before. Had heard they were fabulous and the W in Istanbul is fantastic. Great rooms and public area's. My room even had a patio garden space. Lovely furnishings and amenities. Fantastic helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank JKWBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WInsiderIstanbul, Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, November 7, 2008
Well hello there!
We are really happy that your first W experience was a memorable one.
Being the first W in Europe, Istanbul has proven to be a unique property. W Milan, Barcelona, Athens openings are very soon and London is calling...
Warm greetings from Istanbul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We just returned from a trip to Istanbul. Staying at the new W Hotel was a destination within the destination. There is so much to talk about the hotel from its great location to the fine restaurant and bar to the unbelievable rooms...but really it's the staff that makes the experience special and unique.
The staff was great, from the concierge, to the doormen to the bartenders, you always felt at home. However, I have to point out someone specifically by name, Elif (who I had read prior to the trip was fantastic through Tripadvisor) who really went above and beyond to make the trip truly memorable. Words can't describe really what an impact on the trip she made, you must go to the W Istanbul for someone who really does love her city, and loves helping her clients experience all that Istanbul has to offer.

  • Liked — The staff, the rooms, and the location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WInsiderIstanbul, Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, November 7, 2008
On behalf of all the W talents,we would like to thank you for your wonderful review!! It is much appreciated by all of us.
We sincerely look forward to your next visit and another possibility to WOW you.
We wish you all the best,
Your W family at Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

A super cool hotel! I spent 4 nights with a friend there and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and ensure we had everything we needed.
Admit ally this is not a hotel for the conservative traveller who are looking for a “Grand Hotel” atmosphere, it is dark with neon lights and club music in the corridors, cool and young. The rooms are not gigantically huge but well thought through. The bar on the hidden terrace is fun before going out; food was good and the café also!
When you visit a town for the first time it is vital how competent the concierge at a hotel is, well he absolutely managed to ensure we had a good time, saw the sights and a few hidden gems!
Any time again!!

  • Liked — the cool style of the hotel
  • Disliked — the great private terraces lead people to party through the night which may cost you your beauty sleep
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whatsupnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,019 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#67 of 1,129 in Istanbul
695 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
996 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
321 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing