We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Istanbul
Nearby Hotels
$174
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$489
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$235
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$112
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$145
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,525)
Filter reviews
1,525 results
Traveler rating
754
474
205
65
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
474
205
65
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspg platinumw insiderhip hotelfabulous roomlocal callsbesiktas areadolmabahce palacehotels around the worldroom upgradehotel is locatedpublic areasrain showerturkeylocation is greatold cityasian sidetaksim square
Filter
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 1,525 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very funky and different interiors. Great service and good location. Is a little bit of a walk to the nearest tram station but is a good location. No pool but each room has a great sit out location and bathrooms are quite different


Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rasheed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are truly proud to hear that our team, property and surrounding facilities made you feel at home and cared.

About the pool, I wish you'd given our W Insider a call about this, he would gladly arrange you a exclusive complimentary access to a private pool club in the Bosphorus.

Next time, we'll give it a shot..!!
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my 1st check in her with the family.
Nice but very compacted property.
Bath rooms are nicely designed.
Breakfast is not reflecting W standards.
Gym is very poor and very difficult to find.
Not Lounge for SPG members.
Kids did not enjoy the stay . This is 100% business hotel.

Room Tip: Suitable for business ... Not for family
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taldebsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay in our hotel.

Our historical, governmentally protected building allows us to creat an inimitable atmosphere for you but just not in a quite large area, this is the only reason that the concept seems a little compacted as you described it.

W Hotels are all about a flirty escape from your daily worries and duties, so kids might be left alone in this romanticly designed hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved our stay at the W Istanbul. The styling and design of the property is classic W. The rooms are edgy, but thoughtfully done up and very spacious. The roof window is a nice touch.

They have a great library in the lobby. We were offered a room upgrade on arrival and had to wait for an hour for it to be cleaned, but didn't notice the delay at all since the books were so interesting! The concierge was fantastic, recommended several neighborhoods for us to visit, restaurants and bars to go, etc. Made an effort to connect and learn about the guest.

Location is not ideal if you want to explore Istanbul by foot/metro/tram. We ended up spending a bit extra on cabs to get around. Also, the breakfast was delicious, but no eggs on order included in the buffet!

Another issue was that we got charged for multiple minibar items which we never consumed! But I complained to the front desk and they were happy to waive it off after getting me to sign a disclaimer. Strange.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so proud to hear that we could make you feel at home and cared with our surrounding facilities & team.

Sorry about the minibar complication, we're glad it was quickly resolved.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the W Istanbul for 5 nights and found the front desk and concierge staff were very good. Any room problems were taken care of promptly. Cem and Isa at the concierge desk were really helpful and great guys.
But we found the room too dark and rather uninviting. They brought an extra bright halogen floor lamp to help out which was nice. They said that they have had to do this for many guests. Also the pink lights in the dark corridors made me think I was in Las Vegas and I really found it over the top.
The rain shower was just too big and I always had to use the handheld shower. Also the shower door was red and you can not see through it. Hence I felt claustrophobic in the shower. Why not put on clear glass doors so you can see out? I know it is all the design but I did not like it.
The lobby too was dark and cold. The relentless house music in the lobby, restaurant, corridors, bar etc was too much. I understand the concept of "cool" but the W style will not be our choice next time around.
The breakfast was ok - semi warm scrambled eggs, over cooked very salty bacon, and a toaster that really did not work very well. There was lots of choice and the restaurant staff were very nice and always pleasant.
The location is great and the outside appearance of the hotel is excellent. It is close to good restaurants and a 15 min walk to the tram which will take you over to the old city with all its attractions. The tram was great, 3 TL per trip so inexpensive and certainly better than sitting in a taxi in traffic.
So overall, good responsive staff but not my choice for hotel next time. The lighting is lovely in the evening but it is too dark during the day. The poor concierge looked like he was sitting in a cave. I could not sit at his desk all day with the lighting as it is!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel.

We are so happy to hear that our talent team made you feel cared and at home during your stay.

But about our property and concept, it is obvious that the W Brand's conceptual excitement and flirty design might be too much compared to what you expected to see.
It is indeed the most energetic and active hotel you can find in Istanbul so in the future, if you ever come back to Istanbul not only to relax but also to discover the historic corners of the city while exclusively accessing Istanbul nightlife style of living, we will always be waiting for you!

Warmest regards and take care till the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

First of all, the service is excellent at the W. From the porters to the reception desk to waiters, everyone made me feel welcome.
The decor is trendy-designer but as some other reviewers have noted, everything is extremely dark so it's OK if you are on personal business (or if you work in media or fashion) but maybe a bit over the top for regular business travelers. For example, the bar feels more like a trendy lounge. The room was extremely clean and functional, I liked the day bed which took the entire surface of a square bow-window. Some of my colleagues got amazing rooms courtyard side (2nd floor) which had a small bridge leading to a private baldaquined day or night bed. Amazing!!
I did not like the lighting system in the room, took me a while to make it work, and couldn't get one of the lights to turn off at night (the sink section, which had doors like a cabinet).
The shower is a "rainshower" and so if you don't like it then the only other option is a "hose". There was no bathtub in my room.
On the positive side, there was a very nice Bose sound system, with very cool radio stations presets!
Free wifi in the common areas, although the coverage is pretty bad. You have to pay in the rooms.
We also tried the bar on the terrace, which was wonderful.
Breakfast buffet with lots of choices, both Western and Eastern.
Would definitely recommend, probably more for a couples stay rather than anything else. Probably not ideal for families...

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms on the 2nd floor have a private lounge outdoors lounge area with a large sun-bed
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilleDiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel.

We are so happy that team and property were satisfying and meeting your expectations.

It is understandable that the exciting and vibrant design & concept might be a little bit of distraction from the work as it literally calls for joy, party and escape from your daily worries!

Next time we will be expecting you as a couple with all the relaxing and excitement our property and heavenly city can offer you!

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews