We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moisture Smell / Noise”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #118 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Moisture Smell / Noise”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

It is a chic but a dark hotel (especially elevators lightning was low). Staff makes a lot of noise in late hours (The room was changed twice) and there was a moisture smell in the second room. It was getting worse when the heating was on. But everyone is friendly and besides the smell, everywhere was sparkly clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikoyanGuryevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. As we are a design-led brand, the interior design and lighting are unique and special to the W Brand. The interior design of the W Istanbul is a blend of Ottoman architecture and contemporary W style.

I am glad to hear that you received great service from our W "Talent". We really pride ourselves on the service and Whatever/Whenever W service philosophy.

We hope you give us the opportunity to WOW you soon!
Warm Wishes,

The W Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    435
    188
    56
    19
See reviews for
151
536
114
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at the W hotel Istanbul about a year ago and am just now getting into the habit of writing reviews. This place was fantastic. Clean, stylish, hip, and very modern. My room was perfect-sexy, romantic, and trendy, and the hotel itself was in a great location. Going in the winter, I got a fairly good deal, and overall was very pleased with my stay. I would stay here again on my next trip to Istanbul.

There were security guards who stood around the building at all hours, and you had to pass through a metal detector upon entering the hotel...not sure what this was about, it made me a little nervous but I'm glad that the W takes security matters seriously.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineSChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Warm Greetings from your W family,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at W Istanbul. We really appreciate your amazing words and so happy to hear that you did enjoy your W experience.
We are definetely looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is true to the W brand and very modern and moody. Excellent use of light and most of the decor is red, black and greys.
The roof is functional as well as very nicely designed. Modern and with a wow factor.
The staff were very friendly, helpful, and professional.
The location is close to Dolmabahce Palace and a 5-10 min walk from Taksim and the main shopping street. No metro's too close by but there are always plenty of taxi's in Istanbul.
The only reason I'm not giving a 5 star is because the breakfast and mini bar are very expensive (60 TL, $30, GBP 20 for breakfast and 20 TL, $10, GBP 6.50 for a bar of chocolate). So not perfect but if you like this type of modern boutique hotel then recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. I am delighted to hear that our Talent were very friendly during your stay. We apologize that there were some inconsistencies in your stay and we will address this immediately. This is not the W standard that we work to uphold and we hope you will give us another opportunity to WOW you.
We really pride ourselves on our Whatever/Whenever service and look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great location, very friendly staff. Rooms are funky but a little less design and more function would be welcomed (I gave up trying to switch the lights off!) I had a room with a lovely rooftop terrace which was a little piece of calm in the wonderful chaos of Istanbul.

Breakfast was ok but there were a few negative points - hard to track down staff; cold coffee...the bar is a bar so expect the music to get cranked up.

All in all I would certainly stay here again on vacation, but for business travellers, probably not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edamame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a review, we are always open to feedback and appreciate that you took the time to write. It is true that some of the W Hotels are lighter in design, such as W South Beach and Barcelona, and there are several that use darker colors, woods and lighting as well. The W Istanbul is part of the Akaretler Row Houses, which were built in the 1870s as part of the Dolmabahce Palace and the interior designer blended the W design with Ottoman inspirations.
Apologies for the challenge you had with your cold coffee, this is certainly not our standard way of operating.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and we sincerely hope to see you soon.

Warm wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am very loyal to Starwood, a platinum member in their loyalty program, and usually have great experiences with the W properties. There was nothing wrong with the Istanbul location, but it seemed like a disappointment compared to other W's around the world and the two other Starwood properties I visited in Istanbul (Le Meridien and Sheraton Maslak). The room was slightly smaller than average, but had an unusually large bathroom configuration. The toilet, shower, and sink areas were all three separate rooms. If this room is the platinum upgrade, I'm concerned about the size of the regular room.

There is a small gym available with ok equipment, but with an odd low ceiling. What they call a spa is a couple rooms set aside for massage and treatments. This is not a spa, unlike the excellent offerings at the Sheraton and Le Meridien nearby. The breakfast was very good and offered as an amenity, but normally costs quite a bit (I think close to $30 US).

I know that this property was buit around existing homes, and they have to work with this historical framework. But the final result is an OK hotel that doesn't excite me like many of the better W's I have stayed at elsewhere. I also found the service to be OK but not particularly warm. I could chalk this up to a cultural difference, but everyone at the Le Meridien and Sheraton were much warmer and quick to provide assistance when asked. They also accidentally charged me an extra five hundred dollars, which when pointed out they corrected and apologized for, but they couldn't explain how they come up with this mystery amount in the first place. Strange.

The biggest consideration: while this is the Starwood property closest to tourist attractions and the buzzing scene of Taksim Square, it is still too far to walk anywhere. Since you need to employ taxis or the subway or busses anyway, I found the other Starwood properties much more attractive, both in what they had to offer and their significant cost savings. This isn't a bad hotel, just not worth the price charged or the best example of what this brand normally delivers.

Room Tip: If you need a room with double beds, this is not the hotel for you. All potential upgrade rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Such feedback is much appreciated by us as we strive to improve our understanding of exceptional service everyday.

The issues that you mentioned are not exemplary of our W Standards.
I hope you will accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay.

Please feel free to contact us at any time should you have any questions or need assistance with anything. Once again we thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and the W Brand.

Warm Regards,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Brand new hotel, modern style: main colours are black, grey and fuxia, a kind of colour therapy. Then surprising decorations, according to W style all over the world. I love it. It makes you feel in the future in a old and new in the meanwhile City. Nice room, wonderful lobby, good music and drinks at the Miyorn bar, excellent Turkish food at the Okka restaurant. Gentle and helping staff, even if not everybody speaks good English. Hip and upscale.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear W Guest,

As your W family at Istanbul we would like to thank you for your nice comments. We are all very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and do appreciate your feedback.

As you have also stated, the historic structure of our building combined with the extraordinary interior design makes W Istanbul one of the most spectacular and unique hotels of its kind.
As your friends at W Istanbul, we would love to welcome you back.

We hope to see you again in our magical city and look forward to providing you with many more W experiences!

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I went for the weekend and it was crazy. An up scale and posh hotel which is very comfortable. Perfect location too. The staff is very cordial and nice. Their club is definitely one of the best I have been to. I went with 5 friends and the music was just right their. Its good for people who have their own group and can enjoy good music and ambience.

Loved my stay there!! I will go back there for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear W Guest,


We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at W Istanbul.
You did not leave us any other words to say after your amazing comment.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with your friends and really appreciate your wonderful feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you, your friends & family back soon.

Warm Wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#78 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,158 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,149 in Istanbul
406 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#65 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,304 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#70 of 1,149 in Istanbul
737 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#2 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing