We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inconvenient location with modern design”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #112 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The property located in non-tourist area, makes it uneasy to travel in and out. Very unique interior design and i booked an suite with a tiny view of istanbul. I would definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Istanbul, and i hope the EURO would be cheaper by then so my room costs would be cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear W Guest,


As W Istanbul family, we are pleased to read that we could WOW you during your recent stay at our hotel. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back, if your future journeys will bring you back to Istanbul!

Warm Wishes.

W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is along the Bosphorus but back a couple of blocks between two busy streets. The decor is dark with reds and purples. I had a large room that was very well appointed in the classic W 'too cool for schhol' motif. The bathroom was very luxurious as one might expect for €420 a night. In all it was a luxurious room and very quiet except for the beat of the disco that could be felt as you put your head on the pillow at 2 in the morning. Breakfast was ok but barely with mediocre coffee in a city that is justifiably proud of its coffee. In all this is a hotel for those who prize style over substance and are willing to pay the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosnold10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear W Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at W Istanbul. Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, in hope that you will give us another chance to regain your expectations in our hotel.

Warm Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was designed in the typical W velvet-sparkling style. Rooms are darker, in the dark wood/dark purple colours.
As usual, the bed and linen were extremely comfortable and silky smooth.
What I didn't enjoy was the bathroom set-up (claustrophobic shower, located accross the hall from sink..., bad lighting, uncomfortably placed magnifying mirror...).
As usual, wi-fi is extra charged, as is the bottled water in the room.

Staff was nice and friendly, however when my keys didn't work 3 times during 2 days, they didn't really care much.

Food was tasty and fresh, however the breakfast selection was much narrower than e.g. in W Barcelona. I missed some quality tea - asked for Mint fresh/fusion, and received Lipton bag tea.

I unfortunately did not get to experience the only thing that caught my attention in the hotel - the cabana outdoor "rooms" - as they were all booked/occupied during the 3 days I stayed in the hotel. Maybe you can give it a try :)

Overall, this is certainly a comfortable hotel - however, nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. As we are a design-led brand, the interior design and lighting are unique and special to the W Brand. The interior design of the W Istanbul is a blend of Ottoman architecture and contemporary W style.
The W Beds are certainly comfortable and it is amazing how many people buy the beds!

I am extremely happy to hear that you thought our service was great. We pride ourselves on our "W Talent" at the hotel and do feel that we have the best people with us.

Please let us know when you are coming back so we can arrange your stay in our fabulous Cabana room.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at W Istanbul.

W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very expensive hotel in converted historical houses. We booked this because we are very frequent users of W hotels in the USA and London. Rooms are nice and are typical W decor. While the W is close to the other 5 star hotels along the Bosphorus, it is not on the river and has hardly any good restaurants close by. Because of massive traffic congestion in Istanbul, the trams and ferries are the way to see Istanbul in a quick and often charming way. The W is about a mile walk from the nearest tram station. All this would still be fine if the W had a friendly and caring ambience which it does not. Very matter of fact and we felt uncaring attitude. Food is average, highly priced and the portions are laughable. The evening before leaving, we asked them to arrange a car to the airport and they said it would cost EUR 120 because it was a Mercedes. We said we do not care for the brand of the car and is there not a reasonably priced option? Apparently not if you ask the W concierge to arrange a car. We scrambled to call the travel agency who had organized our one day See Istanbul excursion and in 5 minutes, a car was arranged at much less than half the price. Not sure what W Istanbul thinks is the way to treat guests but the attitude is different from the many other W hotels we have stayed in London & New York.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peregrine230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear W Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at W Istanbul.

Apologies for the challenge you had with your transfer the day you checked out and talent experience; this is certainly not our standard way of operating.

There is quite a large variety of shops and restaurants in Besiktas and Nisantasi near the hotel, sorry to hear that you were not able to locate any of them.

Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, in hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust in our hotel.

Warm Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Starwoods does not have a great option in Istanbul, hence my decision to stay at the W. I would not do it again, not even when redeeming free nights.

Reasons:
1) poor location - not a lot going on in the area, a hike to old city, pera/galata, taxsim
2) not 4 star service - W has an "elite" attitude which often translates to "condescendingly unhelpful". Our work around - go to a nice area and stop in a different 4 star hotel. Would recommend Pera Palace or Four Seasons.
3) favorite experience: trying to sleep while enduring a euro-trash blow out bash (also called 'white party').
4) tendency to nickel and dime / overcharge for incidentals. This is generally true of Ws and annoys me every time.

I would love love love for starwoods to open more true luxury hotels (e.g the st Regis or one similar to the old style grande Bretagne in Athens). The W (and the Istanbul W in particular) just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandidlyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear W Guest,

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. The W Istanbul does not have general noise problems with our guest rooms. When we do get a customer complaint about a specific room, we are looking into the problem and finding a remedy.

We are sincerely sorry to hear that your stay with us did not uphold to the W standards and excellence we strive to deliver consistently. Your elaborate feedback is extremely valuable as it provides us a opportunity to assess and improve our service at every level, in and out of our Hotel.
Although the location of our property is one of the best and most central in relation to major touristic highlights, shopping districts and all the attractions that make Istanbul the city of the 21st Century, it is also very new.

Most importantly, you are a part of the W family and we would love to have another chance to make your stay memorable, here, or at any other W property around the globe in the future.

Best wishes from all of us at W Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for almost a week in July. The staff is top-notch. They noted my platinum status, upgraded me to an amazing room, and answered all of our questions. The concierge helped me find my way to the right shops in the Grand Bazaar, and even called some of the stores and let them know that I was coming. The rooftop terrace is such a fun place, and the service, as usual, was top-of-the-line. Be wary that many taxi drivers don't know exactly where the hotel is located, so you should carry one of their cards with you in case. We were walking distances to a lot of the sights and super close to the ferry so we could navigate our way around rather easily. I even took home two of the SUPER comfortable robes, which are W-branded, but made right there in Turkey!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear W Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Such feedback is much appreciated by us as we strive to improve our understanding of exceptional service everyday.
As you have also put forward, our concierges and talents are committed to represent the W spirit and service. Their genuine and relentless interest in understanding the preferences and expectations of our guests is a rare quality.

Greetings from your W family in Istanbul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Overall I was impressed by our stay - it was not such a big deal to walk to the end of the tram stop to get into the centre of the city. Room modern and clean - with good air conditioning. Food - its restaurant not so great - rather overpriced and quality variable. Would I stay there again? - maybe - but would always eat out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3HappyTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the W Istanbul Hotel and for giving us feedback on your stay. I am very glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and explored the different sites and areas around Akaretler.
I am sorry to hear that the Food was not to your liking.. I will share your feedback with the management of the hotel and please know that we are continuously working to improve. We would really like the opportunity to WOW you and hope you will come and stay with us again.

Warm wishes,

W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#65 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,375 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#58 of 1,175 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,404 reviews
Sisli
The Sofa Hotel
The Sofa Hotel
#286 of 1,175 in Istanbul
623 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#88 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#112 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $123 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Istanbul Hotel is in the centre of the historic Akaretler Row Houses, an upscale neighbourhood filled with restaurants, cafes, and design & art galleries. W guests can explore the authentic and local area of Besiktas and the upscale shopping district of Nisantasi. 140 guestrooms and suites in W Istanbul carry the soul of both history and contemporary luxury. Marmara marble, Ottoman patterns, and lighting to experiment along with your mood. Rooms and suites with gardens, terraces or cabanas adorned with flat-screen TVs, the signature W bed and stylish luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing