We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect from start to end”
Review of Imbat Restaurant - CLOSED

Imbat Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
southern Germany
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Perfect from start to end”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have spent a wonderful evening at the Imbat. Online reservation worked very well. We had an outside table as desired. Service was very friendly and welcoming (yes, folks, give them a good tip) - food and wine tasted perfect - and at the end the bill did not brake our bank.
We can only rave about our stay at Imbat and thank all the staff for doing a wonderful job.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,947
    675
    172
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening in Istanbul”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Made reservations online to visit on a saturday evening after reading the wonderful reviews on TA. They have specific seating times. We arrived an hour before the reserved time, so we waited by the hotel lobby (restaurant is on the top floor of the Orient Express hotel). We were allowed to use their wifi as we waited. Once upstairs we were seated right by the window, were we had a nice view of the Bosphorous bridge with the light show. Terrace view must be great in the summer. Food was outstanding. You could tell the ingredients were really fresh. My lamb was nicely cooked, very tender and flavorful. We had the sampler for dessert. It was not great but it was pricey, so maybe skip dessert if you can.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Silver service super seventh floor views and great food”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Reservations essential - we were 6 in Istanbul for a big birthday event and it exceeded expectations. We'd had ok meals until then but Imbat was amazing. As a near vegetarian I loved the mixed mezze plate and adored the vegetable dish of the day. Champagne by the glass was Turkish and excellent as was the house wine. Though we also tried several bottles. I went by early to explain about the birthday - they made us the most delicious cake. For ambience location price and food I would have to rate Imbat up there with the best anywhere in the world. Thanks for having us. Twice in one trip totally unforgettable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyInnervision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Extremely good value for money here! Good location, beautiful setting, professional staff and (of course) good food and wine! Don't miss to book in advance and don't miss the Imbat!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bustibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The best food that we ate at Istanbul!the plate with the lamb and the goat cheese sauce was the best lamb that I have ever ate in my life!the service also excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imbat Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing