We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best chain”

The House Cafe Tunel
Ranked #900 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Still the best chain”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The House cafe was the best chain cafe/bistro in Istanbul to have this house style. Followed up by many other chains, The House for me is still the best. Non of the other chains have this much selected food and drinks menu. Everything here is specially designed and nothing is simply served. All the plates are treated as art. You ask for an espresso. They bring you a small fruit plate, cookies and a cup of water with apples. 7 TL is not too much for this service, considering that you pay more or less the same for a simple cup.
Yes, the chain grew very fast and yes they had problems to standardise the waitresses. But today they are the best chain cafe/bistro in Turkey.
They also accord themselves to the location they are. The branch in Asmalimescit reflects all the spirit of Tunel Area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HED81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise Came out for dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were walking around at Tunel area after a long long touristic day and after reading the menu we found The House Cafe appropiate for a slow diner. Good food, nice service, relaxing music, adequate Distance between tables and good selection of drinks, including cocktails. The only thing we didn't like was The price of wine by the glass.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food isn't excellent. Interior design, service, and staff are.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed in Istanbul for a year due to work, and The House Cafe was the place I visited the most. From breakfast to dinner, you can have every meal here. Food isn't the best but it's definitely not bad. (Perhaps I was spoiled by how amazing the food is in Istanbul in general. If I didn't have more delicious meals at other restaurants, I'd say The House Cafe's food was great, but when I compare now, I can only use the word 'good'.) So why did I pick this place? It has a very home-like interior design as its name hints at. The presentation of drinks and food are both lovely. And especially The House Cafe in Ortakoy had a wonderful view. Staff is very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegance restaurant”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Elegance restaurant and cafe chain in the main attractions. For exampe there are two house cafe's on Taksim district. one of them is in Tunnel, the other is on İstiklal caddesi after Galatasaray Lisesi on the left side.Ortakoy's view is fantastic.There is also one in Teşvikiye.But i am recommending one of them in Taksim district and ortaköy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pearlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Taste”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The food taste good, a bit pricey. Nice for breakfast or lunch. Sometimes busy, so help your self with seating and grab the english menu!

Helpful?
Thank mod2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The House Cafe Tunel also viewed

 

Been to The House Cafe Tunel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing