We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a cosy place to enjoy”
other travelers have booked this property
Stylish furnishings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stylish furnishings.
Recently restored beautiful home that sleeps 6 Modern and comfortable and keeping all it's original historical features.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Stylish furnishings.
Recently restored beautiful home that sleeps 6
Modern and comfortable and keeping all it's original historical features.
A tasty dinner at home?
Original marble sink and cement tiles.
A place to enjoy.
Original stairwell
Two single beds for the Children or friends
King size double bed.
Magnificent wooden ceiling.
Tasteful carefully chosen and restored antique furniture.
Two bathrooms equipped with powerful rain showers to wake you up for the day.
Full of light.
Chandeliers, original ceilings, and lot's of light from the windows.
Bathroom number 2.
1st class design.
Bedroom 2. Large double bed. And access to the balcony.
Reflections.
A room with a view. Ceiling fan. Beautiful rugs.
A place to sit and contemplate.
One of a kind, carefully chosen and restored furniture.
Morning coffee looking down on the water of the Golden Horn a 5 minute walk away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Istanbul

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helana201...
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too difficult to find this beautiful house”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful house in a non-touristy part but it is not easy to find. There are not even a nameboard outside! The owners was not very helpful to give us public transport directions to the house. In the end when we called a taxi after walking up and down dodgy streets, the taxi could not find it either. Not even very helpful locals could find the house on our google map! We called Ozkan for help but he did not answer his phone. Although this house is in a poorer part of Turkey I loved the area. The owner only mentioned 2 days before we arrived that they are busy paving around the house. It was a complete mess! We carried our suitcases with difficulty over the rocks and gravel and the Uber driver fell with my suitcase over a piece of wire standing out when he came to fetch us. He also could not find the house. It is a very steep 600m walk from the street and at least 1km from the nearest bus stop! The owner did not give us any directions how to get to the house. The decor is beautiful and that is why I booked this house but that will be the only reason I will recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind words about the House as beautiful. We are happy that in the last fall the house has been featured in a leading interior design magazine so we feel our labour of love in restoring the house will be rewarded :) We are sorry that our wonderful area Balat/Fener here in the heart of the city wasn't to your taste. All though we were trying to be helpful to you all the time it is interesting to read your review about we are not being helpful. We manage several rentals around the same area all of our reviews are saying that we were so helpful and they loved their experience communicating with us. We tried to communicate with you several times before your arrival but you didn`t give us any response until the last minute. I remember years ago meeting a colleague's sister who commented how much she liked Istanbul but that it was dirty, and shabby. At the time the Turk in me ( I'm British!) was offended and asked her had she not seen how dirty inner city London or down town Delhi can be? Later, reflecting, I realised that the texture of Istanbul, it's rough edges, is partly what makes it wonderful. I am sorry that through your visit you couldn't see what appeals to the many photographers who walk our streets and the many visitors and guests who pass this way. The area, a Unesco World Heritage sight and a typical Urban story, is going through gentrification but I hope it never loses all it's grittiness becoming too much pastel colour and designer coffee! Cleaners sweep our streets twice a day. In our diverse community some of the residents are poorer but kind and very hospitable. As the saying goes though, 'beauty is in the eye of the beholder' and although most people visiting Istanbul enjoy the cats in the Street, and their experience of a different world, this doesn't mean all will see the beauty or the charm will appeal to all. When you arrived, the municipality was doing a road work outside the area, which is out of our control and took only a week to finish but you were here only 2 nights and it was the time when they were doing just out side the house. So it is a bit unlucky for you but there is nothing we could stop municipality changing the roads. Apologies about the disturbance at that time but it is only to make the road nicer for the future guest arrives to the area and since than it is all well done and nicer than before. In the future we will hope to receive guests who want to experience the colour of a world different to their own, research the area ahead of their visit (see google for thousands of pictures of the Streets of Balat/Fener) and enjoy to leave the sanitised tourist trail for something more real.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a cosy place to enjoy”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Since this was our first trip to Istanbul we appreciated Ozkans offer to organise a pick up service from the airport. Everything went smoothly - the magic of an Istanbul driver was a first experience. The house was as described, very beautiful and very comfortable. We enjoyed the view of the Golden Horn from the balcony an marvelled about the living conditions of our neighbours. We walked a lot and saw a lot and in the evening it was always calming to come back to our home. Ozkan was a friendly host and walking around in the neighbourhood felt safe all the time. We would recommend this house to everyone who looks for an authentic Istanbul experience. To my surprise we were awakened by the crow of a cock, which I wouldn't have expected in a city of plenty millions...Thank you Ozkan and Peter!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josgreet1
Wehl
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect choice”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are looking for a please to really capture the multicultural atmosphere in Istanbul this is it. All the tourist spots are within easy reach by walking or public transport and yet when you are staying here you don't feel like the average tourist. This place is a mix of old and new, rich and poor, east and west. Stay here if you want to get a taste of the real Istanbul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and atmosphere of the house
Liked least: Airconditioning did not work very well, needed fixing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“See and feel the Istanbul of a local”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Do you like to visit exotic locations and get the real feel of a local? I highly recommend this vacation home. Close to a restaurants and cafe's. Close to the a main road artery to the old Istanbul center which includes the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque, the Spice Bazaar, the ferry service, the Galata Bridge. Walking to these areas will also take you through neighbourhoods that you would never see on an organized tour. The tram, and ferries are easy to use, but make sure you have a map to plan your trips.The home has all the needs of a traveller, including a balcony where you can see the Golden Horn. The kitchen is fully functional with a stove, fridge and dishwasher. The clothes washer and drier is easy to use. I would have to say that the best attribute of this rental is the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and the hosts recommendations and map.
Liked least: The hilly roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing host - very helpful
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AdrianBah
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hosts make a lovely trip!”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely welcoming hosts made our visit at Istanbul very enjoyable. Gave us directions and help with the public transportation as they handed us the keys to the building. Which made things much easier as our stay was short and we would not have had enough time to get accustomed to the public transport and hit the usual spots. They performed well above simply fulfilling their duties as hosts and tried their best to make our trip as convenient and enjoyable as possible.

Accommodation was as advertised, clean and really worth the money we paid. Definitely would recommend to anyone that will be visiting the lovely country.

Much love from Malaysia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely hosts!
Liked least: The walk uphill, but all in all a good experience
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing