We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good portioned tasty food”
Review of Hamdi Restaurant

Hamdi Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 13,488 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Grand Bazaar
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good portioned tasty food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Despite some other reviews I found the portion sizes here more than adequate. The veal/ lamb kebab with pistachio was very tasty.
The soup I had was very flavourful but I am unsure as to what it was- my best guess would be a minted lamb and tomato soup.
Lovely light and sweet baklava.
Waiters attentive but not exceptional.
Great views from 2nd floor.
If I was in the vicinity agin I would visit but I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank infinity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    1,191
    515
    226
    178
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant in a strategic position. You have from the terrace on 3rd floor a fantastic view of Istanbul, from Galata bridge and tower to the new mosque.
The food is perfect and well assorted.
The prices are affordable.
It's better booking before going there.

Helpful?
Thank Stefdida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kebap with pictacchio. Geeat tastes with great view”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

One of the best kebab house with different tastes . Especially the kebab with pictacchio is delicous. While you are suppering the great view of Galata Tower and Golden Horn view is perfect

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALIUu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Istanbul”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hamdi is always a good and reliable choice if you want to meet with friends, family or business colleagues. The location is great, right next to the Spice Bazaar and with parking possibilities.
The view is one of the reasons to go there as it overlooks the Galata Bridge on the Golden Horn and the jewel of Istanbul, the Galata Towerç

The starters are very good, from cold olive oil dishes to eggplant salad, from small lahmacuns ( small pitas with minced meat) to icli köfte, a specialty of the Southeast Turkey.
All the kebabs are delicious and light, not greasy but my favorite is the pistachio kebab.,You may find it odd but they go together very well.

You may as well finish your meal with künefe, a special dessert made with vermicelli and cheese
and served hot. A strong Turkish coffee will be necessary after this filling meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nesligul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and excellent view”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I went to Hamdi twice. First time it was late evening and the restaurant was almost full, the other time it was earlier and there were fewer customers. We tried several varieties of kebap, lahmacun and some mezes. Food was excellent and served quite quickly. Service was very professional and efficient, but (especially the first time) the place was so busy that they had virtually no opportunity to become friendly. But nothing to complain about either.

The views over the Golden Horn and Bosphorus are perfect, but you can only fully enjoy them if you have a table close to a window, and there are not so many of those - so if you go there for views (which is not a bad idea at all), it would be wise to make a reservation.

Price-wise I found it very okay, for a two-course meal with tea/beer for two persons I paid around 90 TL, so it's actually less expensive than many restaurants near Sultanahmet Square (and the food is IMHO better). Serving size is not huge (as it can be in some other places in Turkey), but if you go for a starter, they are okay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamdi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hamdi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing