We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but expensive”
Review of Hamdi Restaurant

Hamdi Restaurant
Ranked #123 of 13,538 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Grand Bazaar
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“good but expensive”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good food, try the pistacchio kebap! But it is relatively expensive though. 2 persons = ca. 90-100 TL

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoelMeeuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,001
    1,199
    521
    230
    179
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Turn on the air con”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We ate here for a late lunch and the fumes from the BBQ downstairs were making there way upstairs, the windows were eventually opened to prevent carbon monoxide poisoning , but it wasn't fun , the service was perfunctory at best and the food average. This place must br trading on it's past.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really disappointed. Do NOT go there”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I went at Hamdi with my girlfriend, following many recommendations we got from various sources. For us it has been a terrible experience in everything (but the view).

Let me give you some facts:
- Food: cold pita bread that tastes like a chewing gum; very low quality meat of kebab, turkish pizza and vegetables with terrible smell
- Service: staff have a poor english, don't provide explanation of items in menu, too quick, bad mood. For instance, we had to ask several times to get some water refill, we had to eat "humus" without pita bread because it arrived late, then we got also additional charges in our bill for food we never ordered (luckily they corrected it, when I asked)
- Ambiance: nice view, but very noisy inside
- Price: extremely high compared with other restaurants in Istanbul that have a much higher quality

Restaurants like this should learn that even if we are "one time only" customers because we are tourists, this doesen't give them the right to treat us worse than locals.

Nowdays, in the internet era, luckily the true information goes beyond the paper guides they might have paid for good reviews.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robbyx82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best needle in the haystack”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

For most of our party, Turkish cuisine is probably not our first preference when back home in our various countries. Our general consensus was that of all the restaurants tried during our separate wandering a in Istanbul, this restaurant offered the best prepared, variety and quality of Turkish specialities in town. Popular (book at least a day ahead), the views over the Horn are magnificent, but also around the City. If you can't get a table on the terrace, ask for one close to the windows if you want a sense of eating "al fresco" and with a better view. We often find Turkish deserts too sweet, but the Hamdi baklava are the best in town and very edible. When in Istanbul, you have to eat Turkish, this was - for us - the pick of the bunch with a price p/p of around €30-35.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Local sampler with a view”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our guide took us to the upstairs terrace overlooking the Golden Horn. It seemed to be a favorite among guides and their patrons, but none the less, the service was warm and welcoming and the spicy Turkish food tasty. We enjoyed selecting from the presented mezes options, sampled a very nice meatball and enjoyed kebabs for main courses. The Turkish red wine complemented it perfectly. I was happy to have our guide's assistance in ordering, and he steered us well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamdi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hamdi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing