We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An institution in Istanbul” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konyali Lokantasi Topkapi Palace

Konyali Lokantasi Topkapi Palace
Ranked #492 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Goa, India
Level Contributor
383 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“An institution in Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Konyali is one of the oldest restaurants in Istanbul and it's setting inside the Topkapi Palace is amazing. In summer you seat on a beautiful terrace overlooking the entrance of the Bosphorus. The food is traditional and excellent. We had a traditional mezze plate and some borek to start with. Then we followed by lamb chops and baked kofte served in traditional copper plates like at the Ottoman court.
A chilled glass of Ayran or a freshly made lemonade were the perfect drinks on a hot day. No alcohol is served.
It is a perfect stop in the middle of the Palace visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    165
    99
    40
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

well it was one of the best food i had in Istanbul ! and hoenstly i didn't expect that in such touristic place. but you must try it. the value is great regarding to location and view and food quality. you are wrong if you visit topkapi palace without staying for while in this restuarant. and try to ask them for trukish food. i still remember the meat i had covered with eggplant. one of the best i had in my life.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdeL1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good location and scenic view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a very well located restaurant in the premises of Topkapi Palace and it offers a unique scenic view at the Bosphorus. Food is not the best quality though, with limited selection of kebabs and pastries, at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
293 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant with the Scenery of Bosphorus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lunch at Konyalı Restaurant Topkapı Palace because of the scenery of the Bosphorus, the ambiance and location, The food is delicious an tasty. Prices are high.

Tip to remember: Amazing view of the Bosphorus, book a table in advance and nice to have a Turkish Coffee overlooking the Bosphorus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adnanmordeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expect very high price with avg quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Been to many places with spectacular view at tourist hotspot - e.g Santorini with full sunset view etc,

This resturant takes overpricing to a new level, a can of coke costs 12lira about over 6 USD, 2 sandwich with 2 drink cost over 76lira, this is very expensive in Istanbul with total self service.

And i must say the pricing list is not very clear to say the least- even misleading. I am a strong free market believer but reviewing down bad practices is a good IT age intervention:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zijia_Xu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konyali Lokantasi Topkapi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Konyali Lokantasi Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing