We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place regular food”
Review of Kosebasi Reina

Kosebasi Reina
Reserve with
Kosebasi Reina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,260 of 13,488 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Besiktas
Description: Since 1995, Köşebaşi is the only restaurant chain that is true to the traditional recipes of South Anatolia. Köşebaşi has managed to capture this traditional taste and is committed to continue to offer not only a cultural event but also an introduction to Anatolian lifestyle. Köşebaşi was voted as one of "World's 50 Best Restaurants" by the 14,000 members of Conde Nast Traveler magazine and was awarded with International Tourism, Hotel and Catering Industries Prize as "The Best Representative of The Traditional Turkish Cuisine". Köşebaşi was also cited as "The Best Kebab Restaurant in Istanbul" by Time magazine. Köşebaşi continues its journey in 3 continents, 9 countries with its 28 branches.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place regular food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Reina has a group of diferent restaurants. We made a reservation at Kosebasi. The service is poor with waiters giving you no attention at all. The food is good but more expensive than other places with same level of cousine. The place is very beautiful at night and you have a wonderful view of the bridge that connect the two continents.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcosdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    56
    28
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the best Kebab but clean and good location”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went to the Nisantasi Kosebasi location, right near the high end shopping area of Istanbul, for lunch. Even at such an early time, the place was packed and we had to sit inside because we had not reserved. The decor is very modern and it's not targeting anyone who is looking for an authentic local experience, but the food is OK. I do have a gripe about the extremely perfunctory service, but given the amount of tables and the low numbers of wait staff this should probably be expected. The waiters just don't take the time to listen to you, often walking off before you have completed your order, and are then afflicted with deafness when you try to call them back. I have had better food in Istanbul but the bathrooms were clean and it was in the perfect place for tired shoppers who need to refuel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tallool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware the "slight of hand"!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good food. Good buzz & if I were local I might like it. BUT we left feeling ripped-off. Maybe we should have seen it coming - slick middle-aged waiters with selective hearing for the English language. Their offer to prepare a special 'off-menu' mixed kebab for the two of us meant our bill included the cost for 3 top-priced main courses rather than the two we understood we'd receive. Add to this another 24TL (~£10) for the unrequested mini hors d'ourve pizza each that was slipped onto our plates mid-meal with the slight of hand of a professional card-sharp. Then they claimed to have run out of their white House Wine - and guess in what price-range the nearest replacement was!
Final bill was way over-priced at more than 300TL (~£80 per person) excluding any tip (which they did not get).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CB175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Turkish cuisine”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was recommended this restaurant mainly due to the proximity to the office. It turned out to be a great choice. Whilst not an expert in anyway on turkish food, I found it extremely tasty. We started with a a range of dips and vegetable dishes that they brought around on a large tray. Our waiter spoke reasonable english and was able to help us select a variety. Hot bread to accompany. I don't think we over-ordered but frankly after the starters, we could have finished then. However, we were all looking forward to trying some meats off the grill.
We took a mixed plate with chicken, beef and lamb. Again, i found the food very tasty with that real BBQ flavour.
The meal was topped off with some local beer.
Summary is that I would certainly visit there again. Good food, a nice ambience with choice of seating inside or out. I did think it was a bit pricey but as my first visit to Istanbul, i don't have a good benchmark. it was about US$55 each for the starters, mixed grilled meats and two beers.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njsmith018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good classic Turkish food, but more of a food production type of restaurant. Still probably a good option when looking for a res”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The first time we were here all went very well. The service and food was good. We just were a little surprised that we never got the menu and had to chose what to eat without knowing the price. On the bill it was simply impossible to know what was what and if the bill was accurate. The second time we insisted on getting the menu in order to pick something ourselves. The waiter wasn't very happy and we still couldn't make out a difference of 13 euros on our bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosebasi Reina also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Kosebasi Reina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing