We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kafe Ara

Kafe Ara
Ranked #130 of 13,397 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ara Café is located in the middle of Istiklal Street, in Beyoglu area, facing a square.

My friend and I went there 2 days in a row for lunch, as we loved the salad there so much. The restaurant is flexible enough to let us order any salad and add the sea bream, even though the combinations are not available on the menu. The salad dishes are delicious and perfect in warm weather. We also ordered fresh juice to go with the lunch.

There is an outside dining area but you would risk sitting next to someone who smokes. Inside of the café has 2 levels, atmosphere is chilled and relaxed, free WiFi. There are photographs of Ara Guler on both sides of the walls.

Ara Café is not far from SALT Beyoglu, which in my personal opinion, is the only place worth visiting on Istiklal Street .......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeezee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    98
    19
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A welcome break from Turkish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend and I were on the last day of our 4-day trip to Istanbul and had enjoyed our share of traditional cuisine of kebabs, aubergine, beans, etc. We stumbled upon this cafe which had plenty of locals dining and thought it was a good sign. When I saw the gorgeous quinoa salad on the menu, I was sold. We ended up eating there for lunch and dinner in one day. We shared the quinoa salad twice and also tried the ravioli and veggie lasagna and chocolate cake with ice cream... Yum!

The service was fine- not overly friendly but we were so busy talking we didn't really notice the service either way.

I would recommend to anyone wants a cozy cafe with plenty of yummy non-Turkish items on the menu. Lots of salads to choose from too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Val1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to take a break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

its in the middle of the istiklal street atmosphere is great food is great prices are ok. ( its worth to sit there have a coffee or a nice meal). i wanted to go there and drink a glass of vine but they don't serve alcohol.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a nice place to stop by while walking Istiklal street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

But staff could more be friendly. A bit pricy but the offering is a welcome alternative to the usual food in alternative cafès. It has alfresco and smoking is not permitted inside, but expect that people smoke outside (as everywhere I have been to in the world (except Australia)). If you are into phtography you should not miss this place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lofts3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not pleased”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The most expensive and awful cofee i ve ever tasted. They tried to charge the water to us knowing that we are tourists !

Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kafe Ara also viewed

 

Been to Kafe Ara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing