We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Apricot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apricot Hotel
Ranked #485 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Firstly we couldn't locate the hotel. Though not very far from the Blue Mosque but finding it the first time in the by-lanes with luggage in hand was a real pain. Secondly the hotel staff couldn't speak English which made communication very difficult. To add to it they didn't provide any additional service of pick up and drop from the bus station or to airport. On requesting for one they said that such a facility was available only for bookings made directly on their site and not via Booking.com. Though the rooms were spacious and had that 'old world charm' sort of a look, they seemed dilapidated. I found this hotel way to expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alif0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    55
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
36
100
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arranged to meet our daughter who is working in the middle east in Istanbul for 3 nights. We booked room 1 as it had a separate area with a sofa bed for our daughter. The room overlooked the street which was a bit noisy at times, (but great to people watch in the evenings!). The staff were lovely and friendly, recommending excellent local restaurants, and tips for our stay. The shower in the bathtub was a disaster taking ages to warm up, and we had to kneel in the bath to shower or soak the place (no shower curtain or shield) The water pressure was poor and kept losing the shower as the knob would slip down leaving the bath taps running again. The staff attempted to mend the shower twice, but my husband said you cant do much with poor pressure only put a pump in! However, for the price and location we were happy. The room was clean, the beds comfy and the little fridge a bonus. Would stay again for the location and price but would ask for a room with a shower next time.

Room Tip: Room one has a jacuzzi bath but the shower in it sucks! overlooks the road but not too noisy as quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0rthopaedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this hotel based on personal recommendations and reviews on TA. We were very disappointed. The room was of adequate size but in a bad state of disrepair. The balcony door did not lock and so the room could easily be accessed via the balcony. The timber floor had a rusty nail sticking out of it close to the bed which was very dangerous. In front of the bed a small carpet runner was conveniently placed to hide a hole in the floor where the floorboard had collapsed. Not only is it unacceptable for there to be a hole in the floor but covering it up with the carpet runner is dangerous and quite shocking. In the bathroom, the bath/shower had poor water pressure and hardly any hot water. The bottom of the bath was not sealed properly so water leaked all over the floor, not just a little bit but huge pools covering the whole bathroom.
When we raised these issues with the staff they weren't at all concerned and did not at any stage apologize or make efforts to fix these problems. We were offered a different room for nights 2-4 which we were told was smaller but were not able to view it. We were not confident therefore that the smaller room was any better. When we decided to check out after 1 night we felt it was reasonable for the manager to waive the cost of the airport transfer that was free for guests who booked for more than 3 nights (we booked for 4). After half an hour of the manager stonewalling us on this we settled on paying a proportion of the transfer just so we could leave and resume our holiday at a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DoJo8479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a small hotel in Sultanahmet on a quiet, small street near Arasta Bazaar and various shops and restaurants. I stayed here for two nights, and had not one complaint. We were even bumped up to a nicer, larger room the next night for free. Breakfast was great, the rooms very well-decorated and clean, and extremely helpful staff. The price was also very good for this time of year and in comparison to more expensive and less attractive hotels in the area, I would highly recommend the Apricot.

Room Tip: We had a balcony looking over the courtyard. The rooms facing the street don't have balconies an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiaSdiLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Friendly staff, courteous, caring and still professional. The owner spoke fairly good English and was more than happy to speak to in Turkish on my behalf to taxi drivers and the next hotel that I was staying at, which saved me a lot of hassle. Great location, easy walking distance all around the Old City, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and Spice Market, beautiful Cemberlitas Hamam and the whilring dervish house is just around the corner, literally. I stayed in room four and found the bathroom spacious and the living area with bed roomy enough to throw down my yoga mat to help get over jet lag. Only low point was that the driver due to transfer me to the hotel forgot to pick me up from the airport on arrival, which wasn't fun after 26 hours flying, but the hotel apologised and reimbursed me for cab fare without any complaint. Room rate when I stayed was very competitive. Simple breakfast but certainly sufficient. Would stay again and can certainly recommend this charming local establishment for those who want to explore the tourist attractions and old world charm of Sultanahmet.

Room Tip: room four was at the front of the building, a bit noisy at night, but even with one window opened, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RovingRed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Apricot in February 2013, and had 2 rooms to suit our large family. The stay was excellent. The location is very good, although the neighbourhood that you walk through by taking a right turn out the front door is not nearly as nice as by taking the left turn. We always felt safe and immersed in authentic Istanbul while in their neighbourhood.

The breakfast was simple and very good. The service was very good. The rooms were perfectly acceptable, but with their own little quirks - its not a 5 star place (and thank goodness for that, as this had way more character). The staff were good and helpful to us, even with limited English.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umhawkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We really enjoyed the warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness of the staff at the Apricot. Our room was lovely, with a sofa, and a nice walk-in bathroom. Breakfasts were simple and very good; the fresh-squeezed orange juice was a treat to look forward to. Hakan treated me to my first Turkish coffee, and offered lots of good suggestions for our time in Istanbul. We received a free shuttle service from the airport with a 3 night stay, and that was a big plus. The location is perfect---a quiet street literally just around the corner from the Blue Mosque. Most of all, I am grateful for the care that I received after having come down with food poisoning or a 24 hour bug; Ayse brought me boiled potatoes and salt, and turkish coffee grinds with lemon. The owner of the hotel stopped by to check in on me, and gave my daughter some homeopathic suggestions. He allowed us to stay in the room well past check-out time, until I could get back on my feet. This is exceptional, wonderful kindness. We highly recommend the Apricot Hotel, and the exceptional staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattimcamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#242 of 1,140 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cosmopolitan Park Hotel
Cosmopolitan Park Hotel
#791 of 1,140 in Istanbul
72 reviews
Sultanahmet
Amara Old City Hotel
Amara Old City Hotel
#706 of 1,140 in Istanbul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eser Premium Hotel & Spa
#392 of 1,140 in Istanbul
234 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#70 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#82 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apricot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apricot Hotel

Property: Apricot Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mh., Amiral Tafdil Sokak No. 22, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Istanbul
#118 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#179 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apricot Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Apricot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apricot Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing