We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not safe to stay in this hotel AT ALL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Hill Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Hill Istanbul
Ranked #1,050 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not safe to stay in this hotel AT ALL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

This is a terrible hotel that you should not consider to stay at all. The security of in-house guest are not being guaranteed. Their room control system is totally messy. When their hotel is running full house, they will simply issue key card to guest who check in. My incidence was that when we enter to the room, there are still previous guest luggages inside the room. We report the case to the reception, they re-issue another key card to us. This time was worst. The new room that they assign, there are still guest inside the room taking shower. Another one round of hassle, we change the room. The story end by given us a room that are not functionable. The toilet bowl is not attached to the floor, the whole bathroom was wet. I have been travelling so many places but had never been experience such a bad service hotel before.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    17
    21
    46
See reviews for
20
26
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruethen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed at the Golden Hill for three nights in October as part of a study trip to Turkey and Cyprus. Istanbul is a wonderful city, and the Golden Hill wasn't bad, but there were several problems. The hotel is on the main road (traffic all night) and as we had a road-facing room, a good night's sleep was not possible. The room was OK, but very shabby, the bathroom could have been nice if more attention had been paid to cleanliness! Breakfast was fine, with a wide selection of food, but the two evening meals we had were nothing to write home about. One evening there was rice and a type of stew. My husband and I are vegetarians, so we were offered just two heaps of rice with no accompaniment whatsoever! The waiters seemed to have a problem understanding that there are people who don't eat meat! Drinks taken at the horel are extremely expensive! Including one or two other little 'moans', these are the negative aspects of the hotel. On the positive side, the staff - especially the waiters in the dining room - were very friendly and helpful. The area around the hotel is not particularly attractive, but full of life; we found a good barber's shop round the corner and a nice bar. There is a down-the-steps bar city-wards on the same road as the hotel, but beware! the prices are exorbitant! OUR little bar (out of the hotel door to the left, then first road on the left) was great! All in all, I don't think I would really want to recommend this hotel, as I am sure there are others at the price that are more attractive to visitors to the city. However, it wasn't too far away from tjhe sights, and for three nights it was just about acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallworld44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

quite surprised when informed that each of us (5) would have to pay TYL 10 every visit if we wanted to use the checkers board, the swimming pool, health club or watch the television in the leisure area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelkity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

The Golden Hill is just outside the main touristic part of Istanbul but right on the main tram line so easy to get about. The trams are so simple to use and just 1.4YTL for any length of trip.
OK the hotel....its fine but could be so much better..
All the staff with exception of the pool staff are so miserable and no one smiles AT ALL. I guess this stems from the manager who walks about looking so unhappy. Everything is in place for an enjoyable stay but you just feel so un-welcome.
The Chocolate lounge and the patisserie were never open and I doubt had been for a while. The gym was out of action and looked like it might be being changed into a car park extension or perhaps being re-furbished, who knows.
Breakfast was a boring affair and I chose not to use it after a couple of times. The breakfast room had zero atmosphere and the staff never ever acknowledged you, just cleared your plates away with their solomn faces looking down.
The bedroom was a good size, not too clean but a good size room. Bathroom was very modern, glass sink, large shower with various shower head options with radio and lights! Very swish.
The air conditioning only blew hot or warm air so had the window open at night instead. TV with a decent choice of channels in English. Fridge in room worked but only just cool rather than cold.
Bedlinen good quality and clean.
I think the big bonus point for this hotel was the lower level swimming pool (cold) and the sauna and hamman all free to use. The young guy who staffed this was always happy and made a real effort to make you welcome, giving water to drink and one day an orange. He also carried out the hamman treatment which was superb (€20.00). There is also a large jacuzzi at extra cost, need to book so they can fll it.

Conclusion is yes I did enjoy my stay and it is very good value but it is not for those expecting friendly service. You just have to accept and get on with your city break.
My big tip is to use the trams, really cannot tell you how simple and efficient they are!
I did walk one day from the hotel right down to the Topkapi Palace which was really enjoyable but you have to be reasonably fit and steady on your feet as the pavements are different levels and not always great condition as you head down.

  • Liked — Pool, Hmman, Sauna
  • Disliked — Customer Service - i.e non
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangomark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

We had 2 different rooms here over 5 nights and neither had hair dryer,ironing board,safe as advertised.Fridge in one didnt work, nor air conditioner in other effective.Shower didnt drain properly,general room maintenance lacking and not really clean.No a la carte when we were there and didnt see TV room as mentioned,bar nearly alwasy seemed empty and closed.Service was indifferent .

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank eljoanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

It is a new hotel with very clean but small rooms. Its good location let you get anywhere by tram which only cost you 1.4 YTL. Good breakfast and I particularly enjoyed high speed wifi internet in the Lobby
Everything is good and reasonable but there are jsut some points which we didn't care but you may as I mentioned below:

There is no bar in the room but you can order (the refrigerator is empty and they just put two small mineral water during our one week stay)!

There is no water boiler in room but you can order tea or coffee.

There is no waste bin in the room (there is one in the toilet)!

There wasn't any hotel telephone guide in the room and you must call "0" and the reception will arrange for everything!

The TV channels was noisy and there wasn't many clear TV channels (only 3 or 4 as I remember).

And finally they don't have scale to weigh baggage!

I hoped they could also offer wifi in the rooms but they didn't.

However, we (me and my wife) are satisfied stayed there and I hope they could also figure out the mentioned problems!
And finally just to say thanks I registered their website url in the google and also located the hotel in Wikimapia which they didn't do before and I had problem to find enough information about them on web when my travel agent offer them to us.
http://www.goldenhill.com.tr/

  • Liked — Location and clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

This hotel has been recently built and obviously designed by a man ;-): the shower was so complicated to run we had to ask the hotel desk to come and explain and while it all was very designy, it was also a bit cold (no pictures on the wall, especially in the breakfast room, which could have been a bit cheerier). However, the heating system worked like a charm and the double-glazed windows shut out the noise relatively effectively.

The hotel is located on a busy throughfare with a tram which brings you directly to the Old Town, which is super convenient. The immediate surroundings are ok, whilst no great shakes but plenty of kebab shops and pretty safe, even at night, although travelers should be warned that there is a bit of red light stuff going on -- but all pretty benign.

Personnel was quite helpful but did not speak a lot of English. Breakfast was quite boring with the same thing every day. The swimming pool was out of commission when we came but that seemed to be the case with most other hotels which advertised pools. Maybe there is not enough water -- in fact, there was one occasion when the water seemed to be quite low but this is not the hotel's fault -- Istanbul is growing at a crazy pace and the infrastructure has a hard time keeping up.

The hotel lobby is very pretty and bright )unlike many other hotels we saw which seemed to be more or less in the same class)-- kudos to the hotel for getting that right. However, it would be even better if you could have drink there but that did not seem possible.

Overall facit: would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — New hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laleh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ramada Istanbul Old City
#381 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Aksaray
Golden Taha Hotel
Golden Taha Hotel
#496 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Fener & Balat
Berr Hotel
Berr Hotel
#811 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
All Seasons Hotel
#750 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Grand Anka Hotel
#548 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hill Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hill Istanbul

Property: Golden Hill Istanbul
Address: Millet Cad. No: 104 | Findikzade, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#509 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Hill Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 Star hotel is located in Millet Caddesi/Findikzade that is one of the central points and called as the old Istanbul. It is 10 /20 minutes away from each point of the European side of Istanbul. Our four star hotel has 97 rooms and 6 of them are suites. Besides these all service, we also render the Covered Car Park, Chocolate Launge, Pastry Shop, 2 Bar, 1 A La Carte Restaurant, TV room, conference rooms, Covered Swimming Pool, Turkish Bath, Sauna, Fitness Center, Hairdresser Area services for our esteemed visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Hill Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Golden Hill Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing