We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and selection”
Review of Ciya Sofrasi

Ciya Sofrasi
Ranked #77 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and selection”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my tour group for a farewell dinner so we had a chance to try a lot of different dishes. The selection was great as well as the service. My favorites were the bulgar cooked with tomato paste, eggplant meze, and the grape leaves. I normally don't like the leaves because the veins are hard but that was not the case here. The restaurant is also located in a fun and young neighborhood so you can plan a night out on the town if you choose to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SportTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    409
    142
    54
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An 'insider' view for Çiya”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am Turkish, do live at a 10-min walking distance to Çiya, and go there regularly - once or twice a week. As other people also said, there is never any doubt about the quality, cleanliness, taste and diversity of what you will eat in Çiya. My wife eats here regularly too, to check if they invented something new that she can try at home by herself. Çiya is a culinary school - even for us, the locals.

I have seen that some people complained from the service. Please keep in mind that Çiya is now (unfortunately) a very popular restaurant, mostly full of people coming with great expectations. Do not expect, for example, that any waiter will give his full attention to you. If you wish to be treated royally, there are many other restaurants in Istanbul to receive that kind of service. Çiya is a bit chaotic (Turkish/Anatolian style), sometimes you have to help yourself. After all, waiters are a very nice bunch, they will surely help you if you give them a friendly smile.

About the prices: By Turkish standards Çiya is not a 'cheap' place, but NOWHERE ELSE in Istanbul you can get their quality for a lower price. Besides, they are very honest and good-willed in pricing: You can always have half portions, in order to try as many dishes as possible. Also, what you eat will be printed out on your bill at the end (still, in many restaurants in Istanbul, they inflate the prices by not clearly showing what you actually ate).

Going to Istanbul and not visiting Çiya is a huge waste of opportunity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzanMertG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Think outside the kebab”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went here upon the recommendation of the landlord, and were very pleased. Make sure you go to the quick service restaurant. There's more formal dining across the street, of which we've heard only so-so remarks. Interesting Anatolian dishes with flavors we didn't encounter at other places. We went during the cold season and were served complimentary warm drinks at the end of the meal, made with chestnuts, blackberries and spices. Very tasty and memorable. Good shopping nearby.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank annied03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food, in Asian side of Istanbul”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Good food, fair prices, clean, daily meals, also kebabs. They have 3 places close to each others, take the ferry to Kadokoy, walk for 10 mn and u are there, ask around for the exact address

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WissBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best examples of Southern Turkish Cuisine”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

They have a big menu including hundreds of delicious authentic food. Every single plate is so tasty . The only problem is you can't enjoy your meal with alcoholic drinks. And the atmosphere of the restaurant is not so special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeDo_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciya Sofrasi also viewed

 

Been to Ciya Sofrasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing