We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food and crowded place”
Review of Ciya Sofrasi

Ciya Sofrasi
Ranked #78 of 13,529 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice food and crowded place”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

food is strange)) I've never seen such names of dishes so it's difficult just to guess what you will eat.
But food is delicious.
The only disadvantage - too many people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    410
    143
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rimini
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food, especially meze buffet”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit disappointed after haivng tried ciya kebab but I was still curios about trying ciya sofrasi. This time it was perfect! Great meze choice, honest price for meze del service buffet (i paid 9 liras for a big plate). The only negative point is that you have to be kinda fast in eating because waiters want to make new people seat asap: there is a long queue of people waiting (it is on Lonely planet..)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetagliatelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cowes
Level Contributor
237 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“perhaps a little overhyped”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This restaurant is in every publication about Istanbul the last year – serious travel guides (rough guide, lonely planet, berlitz), food magazines (Essen und Trinken, Guardian food) – even the Mercedes Benz Magazine
Of course we had to try – again tourists beware – if you think this is good for lunch after seeing the Hagia Sophia be aware that this is on the Asian Side – so crossing the Bosporus on a boat, getting a cab form the other side and then getting lost in the street with about 100 similar establishments will bring you there for dinner (this is obviously not the restaurant’s fault but non istanbulus might think it’s like crossing the Thames – it’s not)
Once there – after touring the aforementioned food street and food market – which is worth the travel alone you will find not one but three Ciya brand restaurants – or more eateries as the atmosphere is rather causal/cafeteria like
There is no menu and trying to understand Turkish or the English/German attempted by the helpful team certainly adds to the experience
They have some very traditional food from various areas of turkey with a stress on mezze, stews and some grills – with again very good product quality
As I do not know about how the dishes are named nor meant to taste I struggle to give a detailed review but will at least try – All the mezedes where good with some outstanding (aubergine salad/ aubergines/ samphire and spinach), from the mains I remember the Ciya Kebap, which is up there with Beyti (8/10) and interesting for the grated pistacchio in it, also good a lamb stew- in summary not all the dishes worked for me and the whole experience would have been a great find if bumping in for a casual lunch but not worth the travel for an evening meal and back into town







Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cramorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarsus, Turkey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“like the great food my mother cooks”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my brother. Everything i tried was delicious at the top. While tasting all the things i turned to my brother and said "Here i understand that i miss my mother's food so much". It was emotional for me.

Real traditional Anatolian food as cooked in traditional houses of Anatolia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oguz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food with different concept and flavours”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

First I heard about this restaurant on the Yotam Ottolenghi's Mediterranean cookery programme and it sounded very wonderful and delicious. We wanted to try out to see if it's really as it sounds.
Take the boat across to Kadikoy from Eminonu pier; it takes about 20 minutes. Then walk across towards to high street and take the first right continue to walk through the food shops and after the fish restaurants you will see it.

The food and flavours used represents the East of Turkey which is unusual for everyday kebabs and every day dishes of Turkish cuisine.

I ordered Erik tava which is made with green sour plums in season, lamb and tomato sauce which was different good but plumb and lamb were not in equal proportion there was hardly any lamb in the dish but lots of erik (plumb) which I found it disappointing. I had Tere sherbet which I liked very much. My husband ordered dish called Tiklita and again proportion of meat was hardly visible in the dish. The price wise what you get and what's charged is slightly over priced.

Although the concept is different I did not find the food exceptional; and also the service is a bit like self and table service.
My overall impression is just okay food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karaliayfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciya Sofrasi also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Ciya Sofrasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing