We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome experience

Had an awesome private tour with Israfil! He showed me quite a lot for the short amount of time I... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Georgette W
via mobile
6 hours in Istanbul

It was a great layover at Istanbul and what made it greater our private tour guide ISRAFL...he was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
muradalhelou
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 93 reviews
  
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
88
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour layover long layover turkish airlines few hours ferry ride amazing tour spice market free tour highly recommend this tour state department local stops great hour nice van specific requests asian side ataturk airport felt completely safe
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 93 of 93 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2015

My brother and I had a 14-hour-long layover in Istanbul. After I searched for a private guide online, I found Istanbul layover tours which specializes in tours from the airport. The cost of a private guide was almost half the price of other companies. Our guide, Latif Eseler, was flexible and adjusted the schedule just as we asked. Thank you Latif for the best layover ever.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Steve1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2015

I was flying to India by Turkish Airways, and had almost 14 hours of layover in Istanbul. I thought of making the best use of this time by taking a tour of the historical city. I started looking for a guide who could make the tour worthwhile and came across Latif Eseler of Istanbul Layover Tour. As the company name suggests, it specializes in layover tours.

From the point I introduced myself to Latif over email, till the time when the tour was over, it was a 5-star experience. Before my travel, Latif gave me guidance on everything I had to do in Istanbul. He carefully assessed my request and shared a tour plan with me. He also helped me with the information on where I can leave my carry-on baggage at the airport to where to exchange the currency and so on.

The day I arrived in Istanbul, Latif picked me up from the airport and took me to the old city. We went around the historical sites on foot. Latif provided information about each building, each item we saw, and also provided some nuggets of his own wisdom. He also took a lot of pictures for me as I wanted to be in the pictures with the monuments. He was also able to hasten things up a little bit with tickets etc.

Latif was flexible with the scheduling and the plan was a collaborative one. He was also very friendly and courteous. It was a very pleasant tours - one of the best I have ever had with a guide. Certainly worth a try if you have a long layover in Istanbul.

Date of experience: February 2015
3  Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.