We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and quality are right up there with the best!”
Review of Refik

Refik
Ranked #929 of 13,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Service and quality are right up there with the best!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Noting that previous reviews are all quite varied, we'll throw in our two cents... the Refik is a great experience for dining! Attentive service, varied menu, fresh ingredients, and a very pleasant atmosphere add up to an above average dining experience in Istanbul. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H_RobertsVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    46
    27
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larisa, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good expensive food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lonely planet guide suggested this restaurant and it was right. The food was very good, but when we arrived the place was packed. We waited for half an hour to be seated and during this time the personnel was very kind to buy us a drink, that we have paid in the end?!?! Additionally, we have paid an 11TL service charge out of the blue!
It's worth paying a visit if the book guide is your only advisor.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mixalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The food is so so, 90% of the clientele are tourists and the staff barely try. Really one to avoid. It is not terrible by any means. It is just not very good and there is no good reason for going. You certainly will not have much fun with the brutal service or hordes of other disappointed weekenders, most of whom seemed to have had any hopes of an authentic meal, let alone outstanding mezze, dashed. Don't bother.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Possibly the best at Sofyali Sokak and the area”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We enjoyed the best mezes in our whole travel to Istanbul in this hiden nice restaurant near to the Tünel exit. Don't be afraid by the lack of an external menu. This is just to avoid the traditional tourist visitors. The price are reasonable (expect 100 TL for two persones for a whole meal) and the quality of food is excellent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordi_of_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Refik”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Ate there three times in our 19 day stay. As good as it was in 1972!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refik also viewed

 

Been to Refik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing