We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy yummy Doy Doy!”
Review of Doy Doy Restaurant

Doy Doy Restaurant
Ranked #154 of 13,724 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy Doy Doy!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great view on the terrace of this restaurant of the Blue Mosque, we visited just as the sun set.
It was a little chilly though so wrap up warm.
I had the Iskender kebab which I have had in many other places and this was one of the best!
Delicious.
The bread is yummy.
We ordered some tukish tea and baklava for desert and the baklava was fine and they gave us the tea on the house!
We tried to visit again in our stay but unfortunately it was closed for Eid celebrations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caggy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    287
    144
    52
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dow
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food and a great view”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you can and the weather is good eat on the roof. The view is something else later in the evening as the sun goes down. It can be cool and windy though so be prepared. The range of the menu is good and everyone can find something to eat. Just a fun place to eat that is close to the Hippodrome.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Food was a little salty and the eggplant was burned on the outside, the puffed bread was delicious. The service was quite good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juli631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Popular & delicious”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Tourists love this restaurant for a reason. I stayed in Istanbul as a bit of extra luxury when my wife met up with my teenage son and I on our 10,000-mile cycle expedition from Ireland to Japan (book: Long Road, Hard Lessons). It was a great city in which to hang out for three weeks while we waited for Iran visas. We went back to this restaurant several times. It's popularity put me off at first but after eating there I could see why it was popular.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Donsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view, very reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had an enjoyable lunch on the roof deck of Doy Doy. The prices are surprisingly reasonable and the food was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DickNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doy Doy Restaurant also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Doy Doy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing