We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home in Istanbul”
Review of Berk Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berk Guest House
Ranked #10 of 1,090 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The location of course is perfect-a short walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia or the Topkapi Palace.The tram station is just 3 minutes walk, and can bring you (with a change at Yusufpasa metro to Aksaray train) straight to Atatuerk airport, cheaper and faster than any taxi or minibus.
Berk Guesthouse is a family run place, it has lots of old black and white photos of an Istanbul long faded away, but nice to see them.In the basement where the breakfast is served every morning.Wifi works excellent.
The rooms are clean with all the facilities,heated in winter time.Hot shower.Safety box.The de luxe rooms have even cable TV with foreign stations.The place is located just besides the Four Season Hotel, on the lower side, and surrounded by nice restaurants like the Aloran.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toubab62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel offers you, everyhting you need to spend a fantastic time near the main atractions in Istanbul.
The hotel is setlled in the middle of Sulthanahmed but If you wanna move around downton, the tram stop is 200 mts away from it.
Besides the great location, the rooms are spacious and clean and the owners of the hotel are extremely friendly.
I highly recommend this place if you are looking for an affordable and quiet accomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our second visit to Istanbul; the first was in 2007. It was our second stay at the Berk Guest House and, if/when we're back in Istanbul we'll stay there again. Located within 1/2 mile of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, it couldn't be better situated. It's also about a mile from the covered Grand Bazaar, which, if one likes to be pestered looking at and dickering over prices for rugs, china, etc., an easy walk. From either the hotel rooftop (Room 41), or ours (Room 31) one flight below, excellent views of the mosque and directly overlooking the beautiful Four Seasons garden (the Four Seasons, by the way, is about 3x the price of the Berk). Yesim Evrensel manages the hotel and is the consummate hostess; excellent English; very gracious. If you are in Istanbul NOT on a cruise, or have a night or two pre-/post-cruise, stay there!

Room Tip: As mentioned above, as for either Room 31 or 41; both have great views and I think are the same pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Berk Guest House is perfectly located near all the attractions. There are many cafes and restaurants just round the corner. The rooms are small but adequate and clean as in Istanbul you really only need to be there to sleep as all happening in the city. The delicious breakfast is always served with a smile from the friendly owner who is always there to answer any questions and give any help she can. There is always someone on reception 24 hours and they speak English too. I would recommend this guest house to anyone on a budget who wants friendly clean accommodation with that personal touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinModelsFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived as guests and left as friends. The warm welcome of the owner Yesim cannot be bettered. She went out of her way to ensure that our stay in Istanbul was absolutely perfect but in fact all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.. This guest house is perfectly located as a base to explore the city and situated in an interesting area full of cafes and restaurants. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. The rooms are small but clean fresh and the bed linen was of good quality. We slept perfectly! I would recommend this budget guest house to those who like the personal touch when visiting a city. It has everything you need and is very good value for money but it is the friendliness of the owners that sets it apart from other hotels. We will be returning in the spring!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent our first two nights in Turkey at the Berk Guest House in Istanbul. It made for a handy base to explore the city, near Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. Also close to the Basilica Cistern and the tram. The hotel is in the center of Sultanahmet on a narrow alleyway.

Our room was quite small, but very clean and comfortable. Besides, we were only sleeping in it.

The family that runs the hotel is extraordinarily nice (as was everyone we met in three weeks in Turkey). The hotel has a small rooftop terrace with expansive views across the city, including the Bosphorous.

After one very long day of sightseeing, my wife and I went up to the terrace to relax and just watch the city go by. We heard footsteps on the stairway and, next thing we knew, the hotel owner was bringing us glasses of terrific Turkish red wine and a bowl full of fruit.

Breakfasts were served in a sort of couryard near the back of the hotel and included some sort of very tasty sausage, fruit, yogurt, honey, olives, hard-boiled eggs, a couple of kinds of cheese, several kinds of bread, jam and preserves, and cold cereal, all included in the room rate. It was a great way to start the day and provided plenty of fuel to get us through to lunch. We found such breakfasts are typical at hotels throughout Turkey, at least, at the smaller hotels (didn't stay in any big hotels).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place is in the heart of most historical district of Istanbul. It is in walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi palace, Grand Bazaar, Sultanahmet Mosque, and etc. And I mean a 5 -10 min walk.

The guest house is run by a wonderful family. We stayed here for 4 nights. The owners were super friendly. They had a 3 year old daughter who became friends with our 2 year old son and kept him entertained. The rooms are very comfortable. We were in Istanbul in August and itwas very hot. Our room had an AC. We didn't even feel the heat. The room was a little dated but it was clean. There was a bathroom in our room which is rare to get for this price. The owner even gave her daughters playpen to us to accommodate our son.

In the mornings there was breakfast in the little yard on the first floor. We hung out at this place not only for breakfast but also for coffee in the afternoon. Owner recommended us nice restaurants and places to go in the area.

I would definitely go back. In fact, we will go back next summer. Lovely people, great location, good deal.

Note: cab ride from the airport was only 15 dollars (30 TL)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cagla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
844 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#11 of 1,090 in Istanbul
594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#3 of 1,090 in Istanbul
991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,090 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berk Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berk Guest House

Address: Kutlugun Sokak, No: 29 | Four Seasons Hotel Yanı, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,090 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $29 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berk Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an old Istanbul family and invite you to stay with us in 'Grandma's House'. Explore Istanbul with us, an amazing city with many stories! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berk Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berk Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing