We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road!”
Review of Berk Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berk Guest House
Ranked #23 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Middle of the road!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated for many of the major sites of Istanbul but affords one peace and quiet as well. We chose a room at the top of the hotel that has its own little terrace with a view of the tops of the Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia and the Four Seasons hotel. The terrace was the best part. The room was adequately furnished but had a low sloping ceiling so took some getting used to and the shower leaked badly so the bathroom was awash at shower time. The staff were very friendly and helped with our sightseeing plans etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagLadyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    47
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
64
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent eight nights-two at the beginning of the trip and six at the end, in several different rooms. The owner and staff are very friendly (they noticed it was my birthday and had a bottle of wine in the room), helpful with information, and speak excellent English. The hotel is a three minute walk to Hagia Sophia and the restaurant row in that section of town. The breakfast was buffet style-two cheeses, hard-cooked egg, crepes, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, olives, coffee, tea, apple tea, juices.
All the rooms we stayed in had very small bathrooms and showers. Two rooms on the third floor, which is served by a elevator. We stayed in room 41-double bed, private terrace, large room, AC, refrigerator right outside the door. Room 32, on the second floor, has a lift, a double bed and a single, refrigerator, AC, also very large. Room 14, on the ground floor, is large, has a double bed and single bed, AC, refrigerator, and is the back, so away from the street noise. Room 12, also on the ground floor, is smaller than 14, and faces the street-not great for noise or privacy, and has no AC.
The only drawback to us were the small showers-bot the hot water is plentiful and the pressure is great, and the rooms were quite comfortable to recover from hot days of walking around Istanbul and preparing for the evening activites, and the price seems very good for that section of town with those amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel really was the owner's Grandmother's house. The rooms are comfortable with pleasant views. The rooftop view is spectacular. Yeshem (the owner) and her husband were very helpful. I lost my eye glasses in the Blue mosque and they went out of their way to help me get a new pair. Yeshem's husband also gave me a ride to Fortress Europe (Rumeli Hisari). They were really hospitable. They even offered me a glass of wine in the dinning room in the off hours. It was also fun talking to the other guests during breakfast. It was a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Yeshem speaks English so communication is not a problem. The location is in a nice area that is within walking distance of all the sites of Sultanahmed and the Topkapi Palace area. If you want to feel at home, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aareames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Berk Hotel is located within walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Ayia Sophia and other tourist attractions.Opposite the Four Seasons Hotel.From the roof terrace we had wonderful views of the Bosphorous on one side and Ayia Sophia and the Blue Mosque from the other.
Yesmin and her English speaking staff made us so welcomed...clean comfortable rooms...breakfast included in the price,
Yesmin and Ahmet were fantastic hosts,went out of their way to provide us with everything we wanted to know.
Fully recommended for it's position,price and hospitality.

Room Tip: For a family choose room 32, lift inside the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I would definitely recommend Berk's Guest House to any of my friends or family traveling to Istanbul! Berk's Guest House is a small family owned and operated hotel close to many tourist attractions. It is run by a friendly, English speaking Turkish family and is roughly 30 minutes from the airport. I think it only cost us like 30 or 40 Turkish Lira to get the airport. Each room is unique and the whole place has a real family feel. We really enjoyed our time there. They also include a complementary breakfast which was very good. Book your room now, they fill up pretty fast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gig_em02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My flight from JFK arrived in Istanbul at 5:45 a.m. An hour later the taxi dropped me off at Berk Guest House. Despite my very early arrival, I was welcomed with a cup of coffee and offered a spot on the amazing little roof top terrace. There, I could relax until breakfast was served and enjoy incredible 360 degree views of Istanbul...boats in the Sea of Marmara, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia. It's difficult to overstate just what an ideal location Berk is in. My thanks to Jesmin, her family and staff, for unbeatable hospitality. This was my first visit to Istanbul, but I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: July was very hot. My ground floor room was exposed to some late afternoon sun, so did not cool off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My friend and I were made very welcome at this small, very centrally located, family hotel. From the roof top area there are wonderful views of the Bosphorus on one side and the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia on the other.

We enjoyed our breakfasts and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

I would recommend it mainly becasue of its location and price.

Room Tip: Small hotel but in view of its price perfect for the budget tourist but not if you want spas and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#201 of 1,141 in Istanbul
597 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,047 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#15 of 1,047 in Istanbul
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,047 in Istanbul
978 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
#57 of 1,047 in Istanbul
144 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old Mile Suites
Old Mile Suites
#40 of 1,047 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berk Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berk Guest House

Property: Berk Guest House
Address: Kutlugun Sokak, No: 29, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berk Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an old Istanbul family and invite you to stay with us in 'Grandma's House'. Explore Istanbul with us, an amazing city with many stories! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Berk Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berk Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing