We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis for the weary, the dusty, the footsore”
Review of Yesil Ev

Yesil Ev
Ranked #675 of 13,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An oasis for the weary, the dusty, the footsore”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I experienced only the garden restaurant, but I went there three times in 6 days. In the midst of a tree-and-canvas-shaded walled-in garden, a lovely pale rose marble fountain splashes gently, masking the noise of the streets outside. It is a wonderful place to have lunch on a hot day ; the temperature in the garden is about 5° C lower than just outside. The service is friendly and professional, the cooking is good, the prices are reasonable. Proust would have felt right at home and might have talked about how the white-painted garden chairs with their floral chintz cushions reminded him of luncheon long ago at his darling granny's...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 123Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings, good food, though pricy”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Really pretty surroundings as you can see from the pictures. Food was good was service was good also. It isn't cheap though. Nice place to spend some time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mkatem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic late summer's night dinner”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I had dinner on our last night in Istanbul in the garden restaurant of the Yesil Ev hotel on a quiet side street off Sultanahmet Square. It was a glorious summer evening in a enchanting garden setting, accompanied by a live piano and the soft murmuring of an attractive fountain. The food was excellent - I had Peasant-style lamb stew and my wife, the kebabs. We had a exceptionally delicious mezze plate to start. All very tasty and well presented. Service was professional and attentive. It was a perfect choice for a romantic late summer's dinner to top off our memorable stay in Istanbul.;

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WotanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, but watch the ants”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Breakfast fruits and cheeses were tasty. Dinner was just fine, but I found the dinner service a bit rushed. This is not Burger King, so be careful about trying to have it your way. Staff were not so flexible.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank plspom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We ate there together with our "kids" (17&19) and loved the atmosphere, the food and the service.
Recommendable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBelgianBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yesil Ev also viewed

 

Been to Yesil Ev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing