We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sumahan on the Water
Ranked #198 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights based on the positive reviews so far. I have to say we were really glad to have taken the advice of others and really enjoyed our stay. We had a double room which was adequate in size and had an excellent view of the bospohoros and the bridge with it's ever changing colours. Enjoyed the boat rides back and forth and other facilities like the Hamman which was nice to have as together as a couple. Breakfast was lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. There are places to eat within walking distance in Cengelcoy or take a taxi down to uskardar for more choice. There is also a ferry from uskardar to kabatas. Recommended to get away from the hustle of the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 385 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

it's an amazing place to stay, but not for those who are planning for sight seeing as it's a bit far from the touristic area (water launch take 30min to the nearest tram station).
we have decided to stay there for our last night to enjoy the interior and the view, we insisted on the fact of getting a fire place in our room. we had to book a loft as they couldn't confirm that the double room we will book will have fire place ??
the loft was really a pleasant experience with it's amazing view and small garden, it took us a whole night to heat the down stairs while the up stairs was fine. i think the reason is that the door wasn't blocking the wind properly.
the surprise was that no fire place in whole hotel was working, the hotel team were kind and explained that it's due the windy time, but if it's not meant to be working during winter, then i wondering why they have it in first place :(
the view is surrounding you all over the place, breakfast was nice, nothing really to complain of.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laylabacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

we would highly recomend to stay at sumahan on the water.even if its you first time in istanbul,like it was for us.
no problem getting to the turistic spots, you can take the launch but also the public ship.after a day in the bussy part of istanbul you can unwind and relax in this peacefull spot.

I recomend the rooms with a fireplace, specially in winter, the rooms are bigger,so are the windows. the bathroom has a window so you can see the room and the waterfront.

we enjoyed every minute we spend there and would definitely come back next time.
we changed 3 times the hotel to be on different sides, european and asian.but for our next visit we would stay all the trip in sumahan on the water.

we had a hamam and massage and felt like sultans.
we had once dinner, it was delicious but I found it rather on the expensive side.also there is only one vegetarian choice, thats a pitty.
the staff is very friendly, specially the people at the front desk, we where taking care off so nicely.
I would like to thank all the staff for having made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: go for the ones with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mafaldaanahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I recommend this hotel if you're here not for touristic places but for have relax time and romantic moments. This hotel is for those who have visited Istanbul before and have seen everything but want to come for enjoy watching the sea and boats and big ships crossing near your window in early morning with sound of birds.

Overall,
I like the hotel. My wife she was so happy, and she even felt like she is in dream with the view.
Good!

Notices:
1- I recommend the upper rooms.
2- Hotel offers free transport boat to some certain places at certain times only, but once you reach Kabatas remember that you'll jump from boat to the edge and it is high unless somebody give you hand.
3- Keep your belongs secured in safe box. ex: money.

Room Tip: Take the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mss024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A small Oasis in this busy city. Not recommended if it’s your first time in Istanbul. We enjoyed staying away from the crowd. A launch scheduled can drop you to pastasi and you can take the metro to Taksim. For public transport ask for a acrd at the reception desk. You can easily take it from there to any point in Istanbul or even Princess Islands (the ferry leaves from kadikoy).

A room with a view of the Bosphurus, amazing and romantic. Breakfast on the terrace watching the big liners and boats. Do not miss the fresh orange juice!

Service was OK.
Housekeeping wqas above average... really rare in Istanbul even at Ceragan Kempinski was not that clean.

Room Tip: we took a Junior suite which was really OK and just a little bit more expensive > a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed 2 nights on a business trip to Istanbul. My meetings were away from Taxsim Square where I normally would stay for the nightlife and work but this little jem is an amazing place to stay. Great accommodations, modern rooms and common areas and stunning views of the Bosphorus since the hotel is situated right on the water. This would be a nice place to get married too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackMcKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a wonderful loft that opened up to a front yard right on the Bosphorous. The hotel is small and intimate, but nice as it has the amenities of larger hotels: hammam, massage services, room service etc. It was definitely a bit inconvenient for touring as all the main attractions are on the European side and this was on the Asian side. The hotel does offer a private water taxi to shuttle you back and forth for free, but once you get there it is still a taxi ride to the sights, and then if you want to go out until the early hours of the morning you're pretty much stuck taking a taxi the road route back to the hotel which is very far compared to the water taxi.

If you want a lovely view, and a peaceful, relaxing place come here. If you want to tour Istanbul and/or experience fun nightlife without the hassle of a long commute home, stay on the European side.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kixawixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#432 of 1,173 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#284 of 1,173 in Istanbul
191 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#387 of 1,173 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grand Tarabya
#98 of 1,173 in Istanbul
542 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#59 of 1,173 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#14 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumahan on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumahan on the Water

Address: Kuleli Cad. No:51 Cengelkoy, Uskudar, Istanbul 34684, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $193 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sumahan on the Water 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sumahan on the Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumahan On The Water Hotel Istanbul
Sumahan On The Water Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing